Fermentation Poll

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

How do you set up your fermenter?

• I want to see my airlock bubble!!!

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Put the lid on and the airlock...if it bubbles it bubbles

• Whats an airlock? I just use a piece of cotton wool/bottle top/etc

• I can't find my lid so I just use gladwrap

• I open ferment the way Nature intended

• Total voters

Thommo

Reaction score
Apologies if I stuff this up. This is my first attempt at a Poll.

I recently returned from my honeymoon in England. The wife is originally from there (migrated when she was six) so we got to see all her relatives and I got to try heaps of beers that you don't really find in Oz.

While we were there I was introduced to the beers of the Ludlow Brewery (they only have two, but they were both awesome.) I rang the bloke and he was more than happy to show me around the place the next morning.

Just so you guys can get a bit of an idea where I am coming from, here is their webpage.

Ludlow Brewery

and here is the webpage to the place where they got their system from. He had the six barrel system.

PBC Brewery Installations

He showed me the batch he was brewing at the time and I was surprised to see that he open ferments. I guess it makes sense, as that's the way they have traditionally done it over there, and all he was brewing was Ales, but when I have visited small breweries over here they are all close fermented. I guess I just assumed that it would be the same over there...even though they only really brew ales. It took me by surprise.

Plus, when we all start out with our first coopers kit we pump the temp up to 27 degrees and make sure the fermenter is airtight so that the airlock bubbles away for four days.