East Kent Goldings

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I never refuse any beer...I just whinge the whole time, and say 'it would be better with fuggle....' over and over and over again. I swear that Nige changed his bitter from EKG to fuggle, not cos he thinks it will be better, but just to get me to shut the hell up. :lol:
Bitter V3 with Fuggles, V4 with Styrian, I'm still learning and actually want to see what each brings to a standard recipe. Am quite happy with the EKG version.
Will bring over a couple bottles of mild later in the week....... NB and EKG..
And don't expect I will ever shut you up :D
Cheers
Nige

Bitter V3 with Fuggles, V4 with Styrian, I'm still learning and actually want to see what each brings to a standard recipe. Am quite happy with the EKG version.
Will bring over a couple bottles of mild later in the week....... NB and EKG..
And don't expect I will ever shut you up :D
Cheers
Nige

Hold him down and pour it down his throat ;)

I actually have B's address and next week I'll post him a bottle of my Yorkshire Golden Summer Ale (see his post re a Golden) which has 35g EKG as bittering and Styrians for finishing. Drink it and suffer.

To OP, tweaking EKG with something like Styrian is a marriage made in heaven :icon_drool2:

Whilst it went off topic, I think in a kind of wierd way it's come back full circle....bitters can be great for showcasing hops, even though they're predominanlty a malt driven beer. imo, unlike their american counterparts (which are just hop hop hop), they have a balance with the malt, and with the phenolics and/or esters, which, to me, adds to the enjoyment of the hop rather than detracting from it. I've said in the past that sometimes less is more.....