Dumb newbie questions...

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mal64

Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first attempt to brew beer and I may not have done everything correctly...

I read that you were supposed to test the SG daily but this didn't match with leaving an air lock in place... So I did check the SG daily for about a week at the start of fermentation...

What I bottled tasted ok so maybe I haven't stuffed it up?

The second thing that I'm not sure about is how much carbonation should be present after two weeks in the bottle? The instructions suggest sampling a bottle at this time. Mine has enough to make the lid pop but not enough to make a fizz with just a tingle on the tongue. Happily it still tastes like beer although a little sweet...

I've probably made a serious newbie error but if all I have to do is wait then I can do that...

Any advice would be appreciated thanks, Mal...

Hi Mal,

First up, welcome aboard.

Couple of things;

1: You don't need to test your gravity daily, all you do is end up wasting beer and that is never a good thing. Most brewers will leave it in the fermenter for a least a week before taking a sample for testing. I usually leave mine for 2 weeks before I even think about it again. You only start testing when you think it is nearly ready for bottling, and that is usually a week minimum. The most important thing is making sure your SG is table over 48 hours before you bottle, this way you'll avoid over carbonating your beer and having bottles explode.