Dry Extract Vs Can Goo

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bongchitis

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a kit and addition brewer at the moment and looking to further improve my beers. Next step is a partial Biab APA but even then I need to bring my gravity up with a base malt of some sort.

I was thinking about a comment on one of my beers from a case swap that the extract twang was strong. Im a bit of a noob so I don't have a really good handle on what that twang actually is but if I can get rid of it then do I have to have a handle on it.

So, if i were to use Light spray dried malt instead of canned goo then I can see the benefit of not being boiled to the shithouse to reduce the volume of the goo in manufacture and also the spray dried stuff is not in the can.

Will this get rid of the 'twang' in peoples opinions? ...or any other positive or negative effects?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers............Bong

I guess the real question is; Are you making beer for other peoples taste of yours. I make beer to my personal taste and no longer care what the critics think.

But to more so answer your question, yes LDME will remove the twang; and keep the twangkers happy. It will make your $ per batch a bit higher (still a lot cheaper than mega swill), and you will need to follow the full path of hops (bittering, flavor and aroma). Also getting brew from a high turn over outlet; ie freshes possible kits; will minimize the twang. Also try aging the beer a bit longer, and if you want either filter or use a secondary clearing stage.

Generally an AG will be far superior, but I still make Kit and Dex batches; just for the time factor.

QldKev