Dogbolter Hops

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bullfrog

Reaction score
So I did a search do find out about the hops that are used in the Matilda Bay Dogbolter Dark Lager, and the best I got was a 'memory lane' type thread that was started by PistolPatch from before he'd ever tried even steeping grains. He actually said in the OP, "You are dealing with a newbie here whose only boiled 6 litres before and has never steeped grain so the simpler the advice the better!" Obviously well before he went on to be the BIAB virtuoso that he is now.

Anyway, making a beer, and I'd love some advice on the hop schedule. I'm tweaking what I think the MB Dogbolter is all about, in the aim to make it a touch heavier in the body and to give it a bit more yeast fruitiness by using a nice estery English ale yeast.

The grist that I'm tentatively thinking of is:

3.00kg Munich
1.00kg Pilsener
0.25kg Naked Oats
0.20kg Choc Malt
0.20kg Crystal Malt
0.10kg Black Malt

Expected OG: 1.045

I know that Dogbolter has quite a bit of sweetness at the back of the palate, so if I should alter the grain bill then say so, but I'm really looking for advice on the hopping schedule.

The Dogbolter, to me, has a very currant-ish flavour. I've had subtle currant hints from Northern Brewer in the past, so was thinking of that for bittering, and I've only heard "currant" from Bramling Cross, though I've never used it. Was thinking of getting myself some Bramling Cross and throwing in two late additions, but I wanted to see if there was any better advice.

Anybody brewed a Dogbolter? Anybody think they've got a better idea for hops? Any help will be appreciated.

Cheers