Creating a 'Simple' Mid Strength

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Taswoods

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have been brewing from a can for about 3 years now. Switched from bottles to kegging earlier this year and everything has been going fine.
I use Morgans Australian Bitter cans, with 1kg Malt/Dextrose mix. Very simple.
As you can probably tell from this, I'm no beer connoisseur - I don't care for flavoursome craft beers. Just enjoy something cold, fizzy, bitter and alcoholic.

Enter my doctor with gentle warnings about 'cutting down on alcohol intake'

So, armed with only a simple understanding of the brewing process, I plan with my next batch to merely half the malt/dextrose amount in the fermenter.
I am hoping this will give me a beer with half the alcohol content. Problem solved?

I'm not too concerned about how this will impact flavour - I tend to be able to get used to any beer after drinking it for a while. I'm just wondering if I am missing something and this plan will fail disastrously?

Any input much appreciated.

PS. Yes, I could drink less 'full strength' beer, but I enjoy the 'drinking' part, hence my plan.

Hi mate, I'm in the same boat, I try to keep the OG under 1.040 as I tend to drink in volumes (even tea) so in my case, less is more.
I've been steeping crystal grains to add to the flavour and keeping carb levels low - seems to turn out well :)
No dex / enhancers, only DME / LME.

It certainly won't half your ABV. If you only take out half of your dex/DME (dry malt extract), you're taking out less than half of your fermentables.