Cm2, Fourstar, Brendo, Maple Mega Barleywine Brewday

yeah I have decided to give up breathing for lent... so depending on how that works out for me, if I am still alive after easter I will be there...

Not long now fellas...

Dave and I were discussing it last night at melb brewers and it is going to be a long day - what time does everyone want to get started?

I also suggested to Dave that a final planning meeting at Mrs Parma's might be necessary on the Friday before if people are interested :ph34r:

Just confirming equipment requirements - if I need to bring anything else, let me know...

• 110l kettle
  • burner, reg and gas bottle
  • immersion heater (2400w)
  • march pump, hoses and clamps
  • containers to take wort home
  • hops as agreed
  • hopsock (might help with some of the wort recovery potentially)
  • beer...
I think that is about it from my end... did we confirm that Fent's mash tun will be big enough - I guess we always have Dave's as back-up.

Dave - can you PM me your address??

Brendo

Mrs parmas brewday strategic planning session. done!
equipment. Fents' tun should be ample. I would have though. but yes we have Dave's as a backup
I bring a hopsock also. and my burner

start time....hmmm what do you guysthink. obviously sometime early morning is a good idea. I wouldnt think any later than 10am.

gunna take a long time to lauter and sparge... so the earlier the better in my books.

I am happy to roll anytime from 8-9am onwards I reckon. I think the thing that will really drive the start time will be what time Dave can start to get water up to temp.

What do you reckon Dave??

Mrs parmas brewday strategic planning session. done!
equipment. Fents' tun should be ample.

Actually it wont be, we need daves tun as well. Unless we want a L:G ratio of 1 :lol:

Yeah mrs parmas will be the go although i will need to leave for gteensy early on that friday to get the simcoe and fents tun so no big session for me.

Should be have a bacon and egg butty bbq fry up for breakfast to ensure we have enough sustinence to get us through the day?!? :super:

Friday planning session, great idea. As for Start time, what ever time you guys are able to start is ok with me. I'm planning on getting the water on by 6 or so, given the quantity it will take a while. As for eats and stuff, happy to (get the mrs to) sort some stuff to fry, grill and roast. Thinking eggs and bacon for mash interval, and maybe some snags mid arvo, and the famous beer-butt chickens for tea? gotta keep the system in check.

oh, and speaking of roasting, we just may have a mashbitch, i mean hazing victim, i mean keen learner to help us with those tasks assigned by the board of directors on the day.

You mean grain by grain efficiency calculator and head mash tun cleaner? Im looking forward to seeing siborg analyse each individual grain and create a few graphs and pie charts for us. :lol:

Dave if you organise the grub let us know $ to give you. beer butt chicken :beerbang:

I recon 9am is the earliest i can get there. By the time I give the missus a sleep in (as she's got the girls for the day) and then get to Dave's it will be around 9ish i recon.

Dave im not sure whether or not Im going to have to have Scarlett for a period of time during the day (im not expecting this to occur), but if it does is that ok? Will Wes be around for a playdate?

woohooo mashbitch and beer pourer! nah im kidding siborg, dont worry, we will be gentle

Food is def a good idea... can't rely on beer alone to provide us with all the nutritional needs we will have over the day.

Happy to throw some cash into a pool to help cover those costs Dave and happy with a start at 9am (or thereabouts).

I recon 9am is the earliest i can get there. By the time I give the missus a sleep in (as she's got the girls for the day) and then get to Dave's it will be around 9ish i recon.

Dave im not sure whether or not Im going to have to have Scarlett for a period of time during the day (im not expecting this to occur), but if it does is that ok? Will Wes be around for a playdate?

woohooo mashbitch and beer pourer! nah im kidding siborg, dont worry, we will be gentle

9 is cool, As for the little ankle-biter - no worries. Wes may/may not be here, but either way... no dramas. Maybe our slave-for-the-day can do a child minding short course next week to prepare....

Just make sure he is cleared to work with children!

pig-1.jpg

Rrrrwwweeehhhhhh!!!

Should be a fun day. What time should I get there to start counting the individual grains for grain by grain efficiency?

Seriously, I'm happy to chip in for expenses if you need

it dawned on me over thr weekend, I dont have enough fermentors for my planned brews and the Big V brewday. Oh well a good excuse to head down to bunnings for some cheapo fermentors and a few 20+L cubes

I'd prefer some nice 60L ones though. 2 isnt enough.

Good news .... and some bad. Kegged the Bruised Bruin. it's actually not as bad as initially thought, so hopefully the carbonation gods will be on-side this week, and will have it hooked up on tap. Also of course will be the Yellow snow, and perhaps even black saturday (yet to be kegged). If you want something light - bring it. The rig has been hosed/cleaned/checked, and ready to rock for the weekend.

Bad news, one of my top assistants in the bruery had to be put down on the weekend, so we will be 4 paws short. It will no doubt be very evident when the spent grain is still around the next day. It's been pretty hard on the fam, but dealing well and will be all systems go on Sat.

We may run into issues if the weather plays up, but lets tackle that at the pre-meeting - Friday locked in gents?

Good news .... and some bad. Kegged the Bruised Bruin. it's actually not as bad as initially thought, so hopefully the carbonation gods will be on-side this week, and will have it hooked up on tap. Also of course will be the Yellow snow, and perhaps even black saturday (yet to be kegged). If you want something light - bring it. The rig has been hosed/cleaned/checked, and ready to rock for the weekend.

Bad news, one of my top assistants in the bruery had to be put down on the weekend, so we will be 4 paws short. It will no doubt be very evident when the spent grain is still around the next day. It's been pretty hard on the fam, but dealing well and will be all systems go on Sat.

We may run into issues if the weather plays up, but lets tackle that at the pre-meeting - Friday locked in gents?
thats crap to hear Dave. RIP Molsen, we can have a wake for him.
I'll bring a keg of something cause all ive got bottled is RIS or scottish ale and neither are session beers.

re Friday. I should be ok. I have 1 meeting that keeps changing times that I cant get out of. so i'll keep you posted.

re weather - pffft rain. thats what brewery assistants are for! :lol: we should be right. some wind shielding for the burners and we will be ok.