Claim To Fame - Famous People You Have Met

Bribie G

Adjunct Professor
Shirley Bassey's brother ran up the back of my car in Cardiff

Windsor Davies, for a couple of months, was my house mate in Cardiff - just before he got his big gig in "It Ain't Half Hot Mum" - currently repeating on Foxtel.

windsor_davies.jpeg

And he didn't put on that voice - he sounded exactly like it.

Graham Wheeler (Real Ale guy) sent me a PM which I had bronzed.

I have met argon, he's famous hereabouts and will post later about that :icon_cheers:

I have worked in sound and lighting production for over twenty years and could name drop for hours on end, but I won't.
Who cares?

I met the entire crew of Scooby Doo at Movieworld. It seems their crime fighting careers have ended and they're etching out a comfortable living in Queensland.

About 15 years ago while in Universal Studios, ET thanked me and my family for saving his planet, as we passed by him on our 10 seater BMX.

I once shared an elevator with Ray Meagher.
I was so tempted to give it a bit of the o'l 'flamin kids!' - then I decided enough people think I'm a wanker already..

I have worked in sound and lighting production for over twenty years and could name drop for hours on end, but I won't.
Who cares?

People really only care who was drunk / stoned / a total ******* arsehole.

.....so....dish the dirt..

I saw a completely wasted Big Kev in a silk Aussie flag shirt (no ambiguity whether it was him) abusing the concierge of a Pyrmont hotel. He was slurringly demanding that the concierge take him to see the concierge. He had a scantily clad, svelte, young escort with him, and she was looking pretty mortified.

Famous people you've seen drunk sounds like a better thread and more appropriate for this board as well. :lol:

When I was at uni in Brisbane we often used to see Alfie drunk as a skunk making loud suggestive remarks to every female that he saw. Now that I think of it a drunk football player yelling at women is probably not that out of the ordinary or even newsworthy of a post. Oh well.

Our local Bunnings is opening this weekend. Bob the Builder and Shannon Noll will be there. Perhaps I should go down so I can come back and write a better post. Maybe Bob will be drunk? :eek:

♪♫Bob the Drinker♪♫
♪♫Can he scull it?♪♫

♪♫Bob the Drinker♪♫
♪♫YES HE CAN♪♫

Famous people you've seen drunk sounds like a better thread and more appropriate for this board as well. :lol:

When I was at uni in Brisbane we often used to see Alfie drunk as a skunk making loud suggestive remarks to every female that he saw. Now that I think of it a drunk football player yelling at women is probably not that out of the ordinary or even newsworthy of a post. Oh well.

I went on the piss with Chairman Mao's bodyguard. Does that count?

My last job was a bit of a fly everywhere type gig, one year doing nearly 65000 points of domestic travel alone, and quite often would bump into mostly local people of note, but probably note in the rockstar famous mould....

The most interesting was sharing a row one day in cattle truck with Bud Tingwell not long before he passed away. He was a true gentleman and fantastic to have a conversation with for an hour.

I LOL'd hard at the Ray Meagher comment above; being that Alf is an avid rugby fan, I bumped into him at the Aus vs NZ semi in the '03 world cup....but I was a smashed crab and didn't refrain....ehh well, I can live with Alf thinking I'm a wanker

Greg Bird beat me by half a glass in a 3 schooner sculling contest at Crown Casino a few days before the Australia vs England match last year. Him, Boyd and Lawrence weren't playing so they were seeing the sights. Drinking with those guys was half the reason I felt so rotten stewarding at the AABC.

I've been on the piss with Randy Mosher and Gorden (I blend my beers) Strong. Beat that !

-BD

I had a beer in sydney the other day and next to me sat craig mclachlan, no real conversation i kept thinking he looks familiar for some reason or other.

Does sharing the same cell with Carl Williams count :ph34r:

I once shared an elevator with Ray Meagher.
I was so tempted to give it a bit of the o'l 'flamin kids!' - then I decided enough people think I'm a wanker already..
I'm tempted to call you one for not doing it :)

No way mate.
I didn't want Ray slipping into character and taking his belt off to me in the confines of a lift..