Cider Taste In Brew

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernieszy

Reaction score
I have been brewing for several months using Coopers larger with all going well then one day all my brews turned to apple cider or some other foul tasting brew.
I use Coopers yeast under the lid, dextrose from bin inn (bulked packed) Bin Inn sells bulk loose goods, not sure of the quality. I clean using bleach 1/2 cup to my brew barrel and other gear the bottles get cleaned in a cap ful. I have used a scrubing brush to clean the barrel since day 1.
Any ideas what my problem is and the best way to get back on track

Bernie

I have been brewing for several months using Coopers larger with all going well then one day all my brews turned to apple cider or some other foul tasting brew.
I use Coopers yeast under the lid, dextrose from bin inn (bulked packed) Bin Inn sells bulk loose goods, not sure of the quality. I clean using bleach 1/2 cup to my brew barrel and other gear the bottles get cleaned in a cap ful. I have used a scrubing brush to clean the barrel since day 1.

Bernie

Kit and Kilo's can sometime get that homebrew "twang" flavour.
Alot of this comes back to the age of the can you used, you need to try and get the freshest you can as the cans malt extract can get stale if sitting around for a long while.
Also do you use only dex? If so try using some light dry malt extract in place of the dex (pre-mixed versions are available such as BE2 from the supermarkets) you may well find it should give a maltier taste and better body to your brews.

A few other things that can be done to help with this is steep some specialty grains (not hardly as hard as it sounds), add your own hops (presuming you don't already) and temp control whilst fermenting.