Cheap Hops

Jazman

Fishweide BrauHaus
i found out about another bulk buy if your guys are intrested

http://craftbrewer.org/

G'Day All

Well in my quest to make ingredients the cheapest for everyone as well as the
freshest available, I have struck up a deal with a hop distributor.

Depending where you live, how would you like hops at or under $2.00 per 100
grams ($20.00 a kilogram).

Now I have your attention the background. These are are grown in Tasmania, and
are packaged and sent straight from the farm. They are this years crop, and
packed in 1 kg compressed plugs. The varieties and alpha ratings from last year
(as they haven't been harvested yet so cant give this years) are

Hallertau - 4.9
Tettnang - 4.2
Cluster - 5.2
Nugget - 10
Pride of Ringwood - 10
Pride Plus - 13

As you can see, at this cheap price, you can afford to bitter with the low
Alpha hops for better flavours, and I can assure all, these are sooooo fresh,
you do capture easily that ellusive hop aroma and flavours. And best of all,
its sooooo cheap you throw away what you dont use and buy again fresh next
year.

Details - Delivery will be arround 1 May 2005. But there will be no freight
cost if orders are placed by the end of February. Orders must be in 1 kg lots.
This is a great opportunity for brewers to get together and split batches.

Now, what I would like is two things.
1. An idea who may be interested. This is Australia wide by the way.
2. Any people willing to act as a central point in a region to receive the hops
for collection.

Cost. I have no idea at this stage, but I can tell you with frieght to North
Queensland we paid $20.00 a kilo. The supplier tells me the cost will the same
as last year, and with no freight it should be well under that price, even
suggesting lower than $15.00 a kilo. But to play it safe lets say arround
$20.00 a kilo. In ordering you should consider that you will need to order for
the full year, as this is a one off. I know guys who get there order on
freighted from a major city, so its a good offer.

So please let me know who is interested, and how much approximately its likely
to cost. We up here order 15 kilos last year. The offer is better if the order
gets to that size. I can asuure everyone, I am making no money out of this,
just giving a service I think all craftbrewers need and want.

And yes, shops and micros can be part of this as well. And if you want to post
this on other beer lists, please do.

Shout
Graham L Sanders

im keen for more tettnang and hallertau.maybe one of the others

probably just a typo error sean as its being discusssed on *** at the moment.

it was on todays ocb digest i think he got the year wrong but if guys want to orginise you own state drops with graham as im getting my hops from nz again when i go there later this year

Fair enough.

I'm very tempted - I'd like to try some more of the "local" stuff, but I'm not sure I can be bothered subscribing to another website.

Anyone know how Tassie grown Hallertau and Tettnang measure up?

u dont have to subcribe to the other webstie ,i just got if from them

For Perth people it looks like we will be organising a purchase via west coast brewers. Let me know if you want anything.

anyone wanting to get stuff via Graham on OCB , no use posting here, deop him a email at [email protected]

im pretty sure he does not read anything here

Anyone know how the Tasmanian German hop varieties compare with the German imported ones?

Can't beat the prices there !

Ross said:
Anyone know how the Tasmanian German hop varieties compare with the German imported ones?
[post="104154"][/post]​

Ross.

Try some of the "so called" Oz Premium Lagers. They're the best bet generally speaking. <_< Cascade, Hahn Premium etc. Are finished with Tasmanian "nobles" IIRC.

Is there anyone in SA expressing any interest in this?

Just checked Hopco's price list, which is $17.50 + freight, so there is little to no difference from what's being offered here - maybe same distributor... :)

Edit: Actually hopco is currently only listing pellets - but the pattern seems to be same prices for plugs or pellets for local produce...

cheers Ross...

Ross,
Can you PM me that list ?
They are from Hopco's melb storage?

Luke

For those interested in the orignial offer, looks like you need to order by next week.

Here it is from oz.craftbrewer'org:

[/QUOTE]

G'day All

Well the list nears completion.

Below is the Hop Collection
Stations to date.. In a perfect world everyone gets on with everyone, but we
aren't perfect------- so--------- if
anyone believes they will have problems dealing with any person in their
area, please let me know. We can always make specific arrangments on a case
by case basis (but I would like this to be non-existant if possible)
Naturally all kept confidential if it comes to this.

Please contact me to put your name down.

Please note, YOU WILL NOT BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FINANCIALLY FOR UNPAID ORDERS.
This is the risk the hop supplier takes, and doesn't send out orders til
payment is made.

Currently we have

NORTH QUEENSLAND
Graham Sanders
3 Hazel Street Rasmussen
Townsville
craftbrewer cat bigpond dog com

CENTRAL QUEENSLAND
Andrew Clark
Bundaberg

SOUTH QUEENSLAND
Jayson
Brisbane

WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Neville
Gryphon Brewing
Perth

NSW
Sydney & Woolongong - Michael Stephenson
Newcastle - David Lamotte

CANBERRA
Colin Marshall
Kambah Village

VICTORIA
No-one yet

TASMANIA
No-one yet - bastards probably can go and pick their own.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA
Greg Lehey
Adelaide

Now I am looking for orders to be placed with your local Collection point
from Monday 13 February to Monday 20 February. Cost is $13.00 a kilo. We
will only take orders during this period, for the sanity of everyone.
Remember delivery will be arround 1 May 2006, and you should order for a
years supply, when this all kicks off again.

A brief summary for those who may not know their hops.

Hallertau - Classic german flavour hop found in most lagers, and wheat beers
you taste arround the world. Universally accepted as the best all round hop
to use.

Tettnang - suttle flavours especially suited to lighter styles. Excellent
substitute for Saaz in a Pilsners, but great in lagers, wits, weizens, and
Belgian ales. Fantastic for that wow factor.

Nugget - strong floral/fruity flavour more like an English hop. Quite
unique. Goes great in English styles, but also not bad in APA's as well. Any
beer where that more agressive flavour is desired.

Pride of Ringwood - Australian bittering hop, giving Aussie beers that
unique taste, but not a bad flavour hop as well if kept below 25 IBU.

Cluster - XXXX flavour hop. Yep, taste a XXXX and you have it (POR for
bitterness, cluster for flavour). I like the flavour, and have started using
it in triples, belgian strong ales and wits with great effect. Has that
spicy edge that goes well in these beers. A real surprise for me.

Pride Plus - its very similar to POR,
maybe a little more floral,and handles 30IBU with out the same off flavors
as POR, but all round a good Sub for POR

Any questions please ask. And as usual, please pass this message onto other
discussion lists, brewers, clubs, shop owners or micro's interested.

Shout
Graham L Sanders

[/QUOTE]

I'm intrested in this. OK, these may sound like stupid questions, but

$13.00 kg is that for any of the hops described?
Does this include postage?
I'm also in Bundaberg.
Do you need to order in 1kg lots.

Ross said:
Just checked Hopco's price list, which is $17.50 + freight, so there is little to no difference from what's being offered here - maybe same distributor... :)

Edit: Actually hopco is currently only listing pellets - but the pattern seems to be same prices for plugs or pellets for local produce...

cheers Ross...
[post="104171"][/post]​

It's now 13$ per kilo for all varieties, including freight. Great price I reckon.

You don't have to order a kilo if you don't want to.

QldKev, AndrewQLD (Andrew Clarke) is the pick-up point for Bundy.

- Snow