Carlton Draught / Melbourne Bitter Extract Brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juzz1981

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am just getting into extract brewing and have put down my first brew using saflager w34/70. I used the below recipe to try and get a beer similar to a Carlton Draught or Melbourne Bitter but just tasted a small sample from the fermenter after a 3 days and seems to have an overpowering flavour from the POR hops.

This is the recipe that i used.

2.4kg LME
400g Dex
100g Corn Syrup
40g POR Hops A/A 5.6% @ 60min
15g POR Hops A/A 5.6% @ 15min
Saflager W34/70

Fermenting in a fridge @ 9-10c

Have i added too much flavour/aroma hops? or should i have used a different hop?

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Justin

Hi Guys,

I am just getting into extract brewing and have put down my first brew using saflager w34/70. I used the below recipe to try and get a beer similar to a Carlton Draught or Melbourne Bitter but just tasted a small sample from the fermenter after a 3 days and seems to have an overpowering flavour from the POR hops.

This is the recipe that i used.

2.4kg LME
400g Dex
100g Corn Syrup
40g POR Hops A/A 5.6% @ 60min
15g POR Hops A/A 5.6% @ 15min
Saflager W34/70

Fermenting in a fridge @ 9-10c

Have i added too much flavour/aroma hops? or should i have used a different hop?

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Justin

What was your final volume?

a small sample from the fermenter after a 3 days

This is most likely the issue. Fermentation after 3 days won't give you the same profile as finished, conditioned beer.