Carbonation station something in between bottling and kegging?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluc

Reaction score
Hey all first post here :) just came to ask a question about an in between bottling and kegging carbonation solution.

I am new to home brewing and wondering about carbonating alcoholic drinks ( beer wine). Dont like the idea of bottling, lots of washing and sanitizing followed by measuring sugar for each bottle then capping.Also takes up lots space both long term storage and refrigerator space. I like the idea of kegging but I would not drink enough to make it worthwile, so was trying to think of an in between solution. I thought about using a soda stream machine but again only small 1l bottles then I found this wep page for a home carbonation setup http://www.popsci.com.au/make/projects/how-to-make-your-own-home-drink-carbonation-system,377857 which will carbonate 2l soft drink bottle. So it seems that this may work.

So my question is will this work can I carbonate beer and wine using this method or will the bottle just overflow and empty itself ? I know water can be carbonated this way but what about beer and wine?

this will work.. check it out at ur local home brew shop.. I use it to test wort from time to time and force carbonate a small amount

Also have a think about bulk priming - plenty of info on the site on it if you do a search

I use this method to carbonate my hydrometer samples, so I can have an early taste of my brews. Also considered doing it for the kids.

But be careful! Soda bottles don't have safety relief valves like kegs do! Pressure can be dangerous.

If you go sodastream route (~$50 for sodastream bottle?) then the rest of the components can be sourced from examples such as: