Carbonation Blues

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UsernameTaken

Reaction score
As I think you all know by now I am new to kegging and am having carbonation issues.

To date I have under carbonated, over carbonated and taken over carbonated beer back to under carbonated without seeming to have ever hit the sweet spot on the way up or back!

I am running 2 kegs off the one regulator and aiming for a serving pressure somewhere between 12 and 15 psi based on what I have read.

I have 3 meters of 4mm line going from keg to picnic taps based on what the shop recommended.

My OC beer is way heady (80%+ of the glass) and my UC beer has a decent head (10 to 20% of glass) and whilst not being dead flat just does not have that effervescent carbonation quality we know and love!

All help and advice appreciated.

Except for that time someone said "Look it Up" that was neither helpful or appreciated...

Cheers,
UNT

Did you get your CO2 filled yourself? Or did you get the bottle already filled?
I ask because (and I've posted this in previous threads, because it bit me in the ass) pub gas bottles are often ~70% nitrogen. Nitrogen will do nothing to carbonate your beer.

I've got about 4.5m of 5mm line serving at ~10psi, so without attempting to look up the line/pressure/temperature chart I would assume the serving pressure is too high for the line.

Other factors could be temp, dispensing unit or equipment faults. Temp should be relatively constant to avoid extra CO2 uptake at the lower temp. Also make sure that the temp is appropriate for the line setup. A picnic tap works for some, but I never got the hang of it. Try out a pluto gun and see how it goes. It could also be blocked (hop debris) or not fully opening ball lock poppets if one of the springs are far too stiff.