Brockwell Red Ale - Nail brewing

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coloneldom

Reaction score
So, I was looking to try and clone this recipe, though I'm fairly new to recipe creation and I'm still working out a lot of stuff in terms of software. I've managed to find some details on the brew itself online, in terms of its grain bill, it uses the following:

CaraRed
Pale malt
Munich
Cararoma

It's brewed to 1.060 OG, with Citra hops to a IBU of 35.

Here's a link with a little bit of info, though no real specifics.
https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/lifestyle/a/24736311/the-sip-35-nails-brockwell-brewedwell/

The trouble I'm having is with determining percentages etc for the brew, e.g how much of each grain. If I was brewing to 20 litres, how much citra would I require? Including the double dry hop.

Thank you very much in advance folks! Any help is hugely appreciated!

Here's my first attempt at this one. The grain bill was a bit of a guess as I didn't have anything to go off.
I didn't dry hop this one as I forgot about it but I'd recommend doing this as this is what Nail does.
Haven't got a bottle of the nail version yet to compare but its bloody tasty:

[SIZE=small]BIABacus Pre-Release 1.3K RECIPE REPORT[/SIZE]​

[SIZE=small]BIAB Recipe Designer, Calculator and Scaler.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small](Please visit www.biabrewer.info for the latest version.)[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Red Ale - Batch 1[/SIZE]​

[SIZE=small]Recipe Overview[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Brewer: Chris[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Style: Red Ale[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Source Recipe Link: [/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]ABV: 5.8% (assumes any priming sugar used is diluted.)[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Original Gravity (OG): 1.06[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]IBU's (Tinseth): 35[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Bitterness to Gravity Ratio: 0.58[/SIZE]

[SIZE=small]Colour: 32.6 EBC = 16.6 SRM[/SIZE]