Bringing Yeast On Slants Back To Life

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cortez The Killer

HeCameDancingAcrossTheWater
Reaction score
I have some WLP400 on a slant I was given

So I made up a 10ml starter and poured this into the slant

I thought I saw some yeast cake and the tube went psssst when I cracked it a bit

So I dumped this into a 100ml starter which has been sitting there for 36 hours but there doesn't appear to be any activity

Is this normal?

How long do people find it takes for yeast stored on a slant to come back to life?

Also when culturing back up from a slant what methodology do people use?

I fear that I may have step up from the slant to the 100ml start a little prematurely

Searching hasn't really turned up anything conclusive

Cheers

I am still learning with slants as well but what you've done sounds right. How old was the slant? and how long did you leave it on the 10ml starter for?

18 months I believe

24 hours @ 10ml I think this may be my problem

Not having used slants before (I'm intending to get into it very soon)

I was given a prepared one to had a go with

So I may be jumping the gun - expecting activity already

Cheers

18 months is a bit on the geriatric side for a slant.
I'd have started with 5 mL of wort and left it for at least 2 days to ferment out before stepping up to 25-50 mL. The 50 mL starter I would already put on a stir plate. If your sanitation is good, you may just have to wait a while longer. What temperature are you keeping your starters? Activity on the smaller volume starters can be easy to miss.
From 5 or 10 mL I go to 500 mL, then to 2L for a med. gravity ale, more for hi grav or lager.

MFS.

Dude - I'd wait another day then dump into 25ml and check for activity..

Cheers -Mike