Brewing Lagers

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Herby_76

Reaction score
G'day folks,

I'm about to make the plunge and purchase a fridgemate and enter the world of brewing at accurate temperatures. I've been brewing for a few years now and have progressed as far as partial mashing a couple kg's of grain and the rest extract. Up until now I have had pretty much exclusively brewed ales using liquid yeast, but now want to start making some lagers. If any one has some tips for making good lagers would be greatly appreciated. I wouldn't mind brewing some Eurpoean style lagers (not stella or heinekins though) to start off with (pretty broad I know) Maybe some pilseners and German style brews.

Things I'm particularly interested in are what temperature should grains be mashed at. What type of grains are well suited for lagers. And any other general hints for mashing for lager brews.

I'd also like to know what types of yeasts are good and flexible for a number of different styles. Also any general lager yeast tips i.e. durations, rest periods, cold conditioning etc.

cheers
herby

General rule for lager.

Pitch twice as much yeast as an ale and aerate in a sanitary fashion.
Try to pitch yeast at 15 degrees into wort that is 12 degrees.
WLP833 is a good all round yeast.

Grains in partial: 2-3 kilos of pale malt with some speciality malt.
Go easy on crystal no more then 5% of total bill including extract.

Off course use German noble hops.

The fermentation cycle is most vital.

After 2/3 of the ferment I.e
1.047 OG to 1.022
rack the beer quietly to a second fermenter.
If you manage to pitch yeast cold and you won't need a diacetyl rest.
A diacetyl rest at 16-18 degrees prior to racking is normal though in home brew world.

Once beer in second vessel/fermenter the yeast will finnish its job.