Bramling Cross

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

QldKev

Brew Dude
Reaction score
I've just received 150g Bramling Cross, I've never used it before. Any awesomage beer recipes to use it with. I'm open for ideas, but something for a QLD summer.

I think it best suits traditional ESB's, Ambers and Mild personally Kev. I did a IIPA with it and did some big 5 & 0 plus dry hops to really make it pop. T'was a mistake (for my taste). Like straight Ribena, Try a base of Maris Otter, a hint of dark crystal and some aromatic and use EKG to bitter, then BC late and a smallish dry hop. Then any Burton strain for the ferment. In the right beer and not over the top hopping, it's very pleasant.

See if you can find a clone recipe for a Greene King Brewery Bitter called Ruddles County. Very Nice.

Screwy

Want to experiment with this one. Saison?

See if you can find a clone recipe for a Greene King Brewery Bitter called Ruddles County. Very Nice.

Screwy
Screwy, I've got a couple of recipes for Ruddles County Bitter (Ruddles Oakham brewery, not Greene King). No mention of BC (Challenger/Northdown/Goldings in one, Fuggles & W.G.V in the other).

MartinOC said:
Screwy, I've got a couple of recipes for Ruddles County Bitter (Ruddles Oakham brewery, not Greene King). No mention of BC (Challenger/Northdown/Goldings in one, Fuggles & W.G.V in the other).
Ruddles_zpsae393661.jpg
From here: http://www.greeneking.co.uk/index.asp?pageid=75

Also found this recipe for Ruddles Best Bitter:

Brew Length 19L
OG 1.037
Colour 27 EBC
Bitterness 35 EBU

Pale Malt 2670g
White Sugar 225g
Black Malt 39g
Crystal Malt 30g

Northdown 20g 90 min
Bramling Cross 7g 90 min
Fuggle 7g 90 min

Goldings 11g 10 min

Goldings 7 g Flame out

66c Mash 90 min

FG 1.007