Bits And Pieces Pilsner Recipe Help Needed

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

drfad

Reaction score
Afternoon all,

I've got a Coopers Pilsner Tin which I want to try and am looking for a recipe which will allow me to use up some other stuff laying around.

I plugged the following in to Ianh's spreadsheet and it appears to fit the profile of American Pilsner nicely but want to get real opinions too:

1 tin Coopers Pilsner
1 tin Coopers light malt extract
200g Crystal
200g dextrose

I have 25g of saaz which I need to use, but also have a new pack of hallertau which I have never used before. I was thinking of just using all the saaz in a 20 min boil which bring the IBUs up to level while providing a bit of flavour. Could a do a hop blend with these two, say, bittering with the hallertau and late/dry hopping the saaz?

Any suggestions gratefully received!

I reckon what you have looks fine, though I would knock the crystal back a bit, maybe 100g at most. or leave out..just personal taste.
Maybe you could add a small late addition of hallertau, 6-8 gms at 5mins for a little extra flavour to add to the softness of the saaz without any real bitterness added.

I reckon what you have looks fine, though I would knock the crystal back a bit, maybe 100g at most. or leave out..just personal taste.
Maybe you could add a small late addition of hallertau, 6-8 gms at 5mins for a little extra flavour to add to the softness of the saaz without any real bitterness added.

Thanks Yum.

The crystal adds some body and sugars, is that right? So it may get to "thick" for a Pilsner?

I too have a tin of the coopers pilsner to use up, for once I am going to try and stick fairly closely to the recommendations on the tin.

coopers pilsner