Biltong

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndrewQLD

RED ON WHITE IPA
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at air drying meat, the recipe and method I have used is available on this site Biltong
And I have to say it tastes great.

I used topside roast sliced into 1 cm strips
2 kg lean roasting beef.(Silverside, Topside or such)(London Broil)
125 gram rock salt (Not sea salt or table salt)
25 ml brown sugar.
5 ml bicarbonate of soda.
2.5 ml coarsely ground black pepper.
12.5 gram coarsely ground coriander seeds.
200 ml vinegar mixed with 50ml Worcestershire sauce.
1 litre warm water.

Method
Cut meat into strips of approximately 1cm thick.
Mix together all dry ingredients.
Rub dry spice mixture into the meat.
Layer meat in bowl with the thicker pieces at the bottom,
sprinkling a little vinegar mixture over each layer.
Leave in cool place for 24 hours.
Remove meat, strain the vinegar mix and add a litre of warm water to the mix.
Dip the meat into the vinegar/water mix and rub off any salt and spices that still cling.
Squeeze meat dry with hands or dry with paper towel.
Skewer meat and hang.

If any one is interested I will post the instructions to make the drying box.

Cheers
Andrew

Cheers
Andrew
[/quote]

Andrew,
I'd be interested to see a copy of the instructions if you're still happy to post.
Cheers,
Mark

I can't believe I missed this thread Andrew. Biltong is AG, Jerky is K&K! :icon_drool2:

Sean

Cheers
Andrew

Andrew,
I'd be interested to see a copy of the instructions if you're still happy to post.
Cheers,
Mark

This site here has some pictures and measurements of a really good biltong box you can make.
The air holes should have some flyscreen glued over them on the inside.

This one here is also a good design.