Best Temp For Morgan's Lager Yeast - Golden Saaz Pilsener

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barley Belly

Head Brewer - Barley Belly Brewery
Reaction score
Just wondering on a good temp to ferment a Morgan's Golden Saaz Pilsener.

I'm new to this Lager yeast, as I usually do ales in my heated brew cupboard.
The prob is my thermostat only goes down to 18deg which I know is way too high for Lager yeast.

Is the Morgan's a true Lager yeast?
I have been told their Ale Yeast is Mauribrew Ale 514 and was wondering if their Lager was the Mauribrew Lager 497?
And if so what would a good temp be?

And what is a good temp to pitch the yeast at?

I was planning:-

Morgan's Golden Saaz Pilsener Kit
400 grams LDME
600 grams Dex

Hopefully fermented in a spot at around about 12 deg constant

With the above recipe and conditions what time frame am I looking, if all goes well, at fermentation finishing?

I will be bottling it, so is it also advisable to bottle carb it at the same 12deg for around ten days?

Sorry for the million questions
Any help will be greatly appreciated

finners.
took a bit of searching, but....
I found one site reviewing kits...someone there claims it is an ale yeast
found a site for some brewshop in charlston nsw that sells the yeast seperate....they have the blue packets of morgans lager yeast (as opposed to the red packs of morgans ale yeast.). They claim that the 'lager' yeast (and it actually says that on the pack.) is the same yeast in the export range. However, the interesting thing is that they had reccomended temps for it as 18-30, same as the ale yeast. Given that the saf yeasts on the same sight had the correct temperatures for the strains, I would have to go with that, and consider it to be a pseudo lager, and just treat it as an ale.