Beer Glasses

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sinfathisar

Reaction score
Anyone know a simple way to reinvigorate beer glasses? Mine are making my beer go flat :angry:

I use a curly pure stainless steel scrubber from the supermarket and a strong dishwashing liquid like Morning Fresh or ALDI Tandil and give them a good scrub inside, if necessary pushing the scrubber into the corners and working it around with the handle of a wooden spoon etc. Don't worry, the glasses can take it ;) As hot as your hands can stand.

Then about six vigorous rinses in cold water and dry with a fresh clean tea towel. It's amazing how much crud can build up in glasses. There is a school of thought that detergents should never come in contact with beer glasses - BS - I have been washing glasses like this for 30 years.

Aussie_Pale_2__Medium_.jpg

I use a curly pure stainless steel scrubber from the supermarket and a strong dishwashing liquid like Morning Fresh or ALDI Tandil and give them a good scrub inside, if necessary pushing the scrubber into the corners and working it around with the handle of a wooden spoon etc. Don't worry, the glasses can take it ;) As hot as your hands can stand.

Then about six vigorous rinses in cold water and dry with a fresh clean tea towel. It's amazing how much crud can build up in glasses. There is a school of thought that detergents should never come in contact with beer glasses - BS - I have been washing glasses like this for 30 years.

View attachment 44017
Is that a beer cappuccino?

Soak them in a sink full of hot water and a dishwasher tab. Detergent ( sorry Bribie ) is not a freind of beer glasses. Dishwasher tabs are alkaline and not a detergent, so will dissolve any oily films on the glass

Then rinse with a mixture of water and white vinegar.

Tandil is my friend :p