Aus wide Bulk buy Grain mill- Malt Muncher

sp0rk said:
are you sure they're 5mm?
the 5mm hex head bolts i got from bunnings were too small
might take the mill into bunnings tomorrow and have another go
I asked the mechanic at work who got them out if our nuts and bolts cupboard and he said they were 5 mm but he might have been wrong. Sorry

Well heres mine mounted to some ply with cut out for the drill.

FTW :D

grain mill.jpg

But epic fail... :blink:

(Oh well at least the business end works.)

grainmillfail.jpg

Truman said:
Well heres mine mounted to some ply with cut out for the drill.

FTW :D

grain mill.jpg

But epic fail... :blink:

(Oh well at least the business end works.)

grainmillfail.jpg
Mine's almost exactly the same only MDF and offset so i can still use the crank handle if the cordless drill goes flat mid crush
mine also doesn't go in the bucket upside down :(
might get around to making a different perspex hopper some time in the future

Could someone please post some close up pics of these mills?

Would love to see the quality, well at least in pics, for the money.

They are the 'Barley Crusher' ones yeah?

sp0rk said:
are you sure they're 5mm?
the 5mm hex head bolts i got from bunnings were too small
might take the mill into bunnings tomorrow and have another go
sp0rk said:
Just stole the mrs's car and ran over to bunnings
6mm works, but is a tiny bit wobbly
I have a feeling they're an imperial thread size
Man, you're efficient! In 22 minutes you did all of this?

- decided you'd go to Bunnings now instead of tomorrow
- stole a car
- drove to Bunnings
- exchanged old bolts for new bolts
- drove back
- bolted mill to base and evaluated outcome
- wrote second post

EDIT: Not sure why those timings went ten minutes backwards in the quotes, weird. Still 22 minutes though.

I change my mind a lot like that, just on a whim
Also I live about a 5 minute drive from Bunnings south of Coffs
I knew exactly which aisle i was going to, and i took the mill with me to make sure it was the right size

Cocko said:
Could someone please post some close up pics of these mills?

Would love to see the quality, well at least in pics, for the money.

They are the 'Barley Crusher' ones yeah?
No they are the Malt Muncher cocko. And for $100 you can't go wrong. I'd take some pics but better to get someone who hasn't bolted his to a base or put the hopper on to take them so you can see them better.

All good mate, thanks!

I was asking for a friend who was looking for a mill but has already gone with the MM, which in my opinion is a superior mill, cost excluded.

I picked mine up yesterday but it was absolutely coated in brown grease.
I've never seen food grade grease that wasn't clear/white so I cleaned it off with degreaser and sodium percarb.

It looks the goods now. Thanks heaps Truman.