Anyone Had Dodgy Wyeast?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerDingo

Reaction score
Hey,

I'm new to liquid yeast's. I have used a 3068 wyeast before, and from memory, when I opened the packet, it smelled quite nice. ie., it had a sweet bananary smell. However, I just got another one (from same supplier), and it smells bad. I am making a starter now, and will check what that smells/taste's like, but am worried by the inital smell that the yeast gave off.

So, I was just wondering if anyone else has had problems with dodgy smelling wyeast packets?

regards
Dingo

i had a dodgy 3068 last year

Hey,

I'm new to liquid yeast's. I have used a 3068 wyeast before, and from memory, when I opened the packet, it smelled quite nice. ie., it had a sweet bananary smell. However, I just got another one (from same supplier), and it smells bad. I am making a starter now, and will check what that smells/taste's like, but am worried by the inital smell that the yeast gave off.

So, I was just wondering if anyone else has had problems with dodgy smelling wyeast packets?

regards
Dingo

Hey,

regards
Dingo

Yeasts can often smell funky - If the yeast has only just been opened you can be pretty well 100% sure that it's fine.

Cheers Ross

I had two or three crook pack of this yeast in 2006, G&G replaced them, they all stopped high and I could not get them to restart, had to add some dried yeast to finish them out IIRC. No worries with further supplies. Can't say there was any off smell to the yeast, one even stopped on the stirplate at around 1.030 IIRC.

Screwy

Sometimes they do smell a bit strong, but if the pack swelled, then the yeast is alive and kicking. Make your starter, and be sure to taste it before you pitch.