Any suggestions for my first ever AG BIAB brew? (A small, test one)

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hapitan

Reaction score
I'm looking for suggestions for my next brew. I'm a beginner, but I've got a few mightily successful brews under my belt (well, I'm happy with them!)

They include:
  • A simple ginger beer
  • A Coopers Pale Ale Kit
  • An Aldi apple cider
  • Dr Smurto's Golden Ale (extract and caramalt mix)
The Smurto is still going, but it's smelling very nice and fermenting strongly.

What I want to do next is BIAB - but an easy, small one. I'm thinking about 10-12 litres.

The reasons for the small brew are:
  • I've got a 28L pot, but only a semi-okay BBQ burner.
  • I want to get a small BIAB done so I know what to expect when I scale up.
  • I don't think I'll have enough bottles for any more than 10-12L
  • I've got an open packet of about 7g of US-05 yeast that I'd like to use.
Apart from that, I also hope it could use Amarillo hops. I've got about 50g left over from my Dr Smurto Golden Ale.

So, what suggestions do you have? I reckon I'll get my grain at the Hop and Grain in Enmore, or Dave's Homebrew. Either/or.

How about a SMaSH (single malt and single hop).

Maybe Marris Otter and Amarillo?

Yep, Maris otter and Amarillo was my first BIAB recipe and at that time the best beer I'd ever made. For 12 litres about 2.5-3kg depending on how strong you want it. Depending on how much Amarillo you have a small bittering addition of 10-15 IBUs, about twice as much by weight at flame out and if you have some left over a dry hop too.

Small batches are great, enables you to brew up a variety of beers, I did my first biab batch last weekend, was a lightly hopped pale ale:

2kg Ale Malt
100g crystal 60L
7g centennial @ 60 minutes
10g Galaxy @ 5 minutes
Added 200g of dex but not necessary