American IPA

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jordyt01

Reaction score
G'day

Fairly new to brewing. Was think of doing an American style IPA. I have done a fair amount of research and used Ian's spreadsheet and come up with this. I would greatly appreciate thoughts/ideas on this. I have read on a few sites to use all DME as less chance for it to carmalize and burn during a small volume boil.

Volume 23 litres

Boil volume 10 Litres

Light DME 2.5kg
Wheat DME 1.0kg
CaraRed 0.60 (steeped)

Centennial 15g @60 mins
Chinook 15g @30 mins
Amarillo 15g @15 mins
Centennial 15g @5 mins
Chinook 15g @5 mins
Amarillo 15g @5 mins

Dry hop with some Amarillo

OG 1.061
FG 1.015

Alc 6.4%

Please be kind it's my first attempt at a recipe. I really enjoy IPA's

All feedback ideas welcome

Thanks in advance!

Sorry IBU is 48.3 is this a bit low for an IPA?

Cheers

Jordy, it's too hard to tell from the recipe what this might come out like. I think you'll need to drop me over a 6-pack once it's done and I'll let you know.....
:icon_drool2:

you would need at least 60IBU to balnce this out I think....

I like to have a GU:BU of 1 for IPA's

Jordyt01 said:
Sorry IBU is 48.3 is this a bit low for an IPA?

Cheers
From the BJCP guidelines, IBUs are fine. (IBUs: 40 – 70)

Those hops will work well together. Should be a nice brew. Make sure you keep tasting notes and then you can work out how you would change it next time.

It does look bloody good to me...from an AABC perspective (as used in Ian's spreadsheet), an AIPA can have 40-60 IBU, so nothing wrong with 48.