23ltr Brew In 60 L Fermenter?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Liam dee

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to brewing, but have been around it plenty. I was recently given what everyone dreams of.

A 60L fermenter
Hydrometer
Airlock
bottle caps
bench top leaver down capper
La'avienorre de papa (bottle wrinser)
and about 120 king brown bottles.

All this for a pretty low price of $0

admittedly, the whole lot has sat in a shed for about 12 months but, all it needed was a scrub up. So... I got out the bleach and water, cleaned it all thoroghly, knowing that sterelization is the key. Now... before anyone chimes in, like the guy at the LHBS, my mate cleans all his stuff like this, and tasting his homebrew is what made me want to get into all of this.

Now to the problem.
my first brew, a international range coopers lager. I followed the instructions implicitly, as my mate had done. Using BE2 adding the yeast at the end, keeping the brew at about 20*C.

First off, It did get a nice healthy head on the wort, then the yeast scum formed, and sure enough after 2 days the room smelt like beer. The airlock never bubbled, a fact I have been assured is not a problem (probably just the old seals). So, we are at day 3 morning, and its looking pretty damn good. Then, that evening, I checked again to find the foam off the top, completely gone. Checking the S.G confirmed it was still fermenting.

I have since bottled that brew and started a fresh.