$18 Pint. Is This A Record?

Just to make it even more ridiculous, while The Garden in Leederville was charging $18 per pint of Ho', JB O'Reilly's was serving Feral White for $6.50 per pint less than 2km away - The same Feral White which beat Hoegaarden at this year's Australian Beer Awards.

$9.80 for a 310ml tulip at the St Kilda Local. Pricey but still not that bad given the Rogue bottles are about $7.20 for an equivalent amount and you then have to work in the bar markup. Beer Deluxe charged $12 for about the same amount of Murray's Big Wednesday. That's pretty bad.

Beer Deluxe are a ******* ripoff. The fact that they were the only bar in Melbourne (for some obscure reason) to get Big Wednesday may have something to do with the insane price. I was going to go into the city to try it, glad I didn't!

Not to mention that their staff are pretentious and can't believe that someone in their early 20s could possibly know anything about beer. When I ask what you have on tap, I don't want you to tell me what I want. They were annoying, I won't be back next time I'm in Melbourne but at least I got to try Big Wednesday.

you old wanker

i think i can top the lot with my experiance from the other night @ Beer Deluxe, Melb

went there with a mate before we were of to the Comedy Festival to see Sam Simmonds (funny dude), thought we might smash some beers as he didn't start till quite late.

Anyway, we worked our way through some beers, all were great.

Then I spotted one tap, Moo Brew Imperial Stout Oak Aged.... I thought, wow... i didn't know that was available on tap... I knew that the bottles had beem on sale on there site and were exy, but got good reviews. The bar tender went on to say that it was one of four kegs around! so i thought, fark it, lets try it! two glasses were poured, one each.

Drinking was amazing, awsome beer, hugely complex stuff.

went to finish up as we were running late, paid the bill and rushed out the door, checked receipt.... $85 for the two Moo Brews!

thats $42.50 per glass....

went back in and the barman explained it was 10c per ml....... 425ml = $42.50

i politley (still very surprised at this stage) mentioned that may be he should have mentioned this at the start....

still, the beer was great...

jimmy

i think i can top the lot with my experiance from the other night @ Beer Deluxe, Melb

went there with a mate before we were of to the Comedy Festival to see Sam Simmonds (funny dude), thought we might smash some beers as he didn't start till quite late.

Anyway, we worked our way through some beers, all were great.

Then I spotted one tap, Moo Brew Imperial Stout Oak Aged.... I thought, wow... i didn't know that was available on tap... I knew that the bottles had beem on sale on there site and were exy, but got good reviews. The bar tender went on to say that it was one of four kegs around! so i thought, fark it, lets try it! two glasses were poured, one each.

Drinking was amazing, awsome beer, hugely complex stuff.

went to finish up as we were running late, paid the bill and rushed out the door, checked receipt.... $85 for the two Moo Brews!

went back in and the barman explained it was 10c per ml....... 425ml = $42.50

i politley (still very surprised at this stage) mentioned that may be he should have mentioned this at the start....

still, the beer was great...

jimmy

If they dont tell you first about a completely abnormal price - that is an absolute disgrace. And an imperial stout should not cost that much. Moo products are decent but grossly overpriced (its beer for pete's sake)

Jimmy,

At that rate you should save your penny's and buy a ticket to the USA - you can drink those kind of beers for free at Great Divide in Denver.

Takeaways are a few dollars each.

If you make ten times as much everything becomes ten times cheaper. Yuppies rarely complain about the price of Bolivian Marching Powder and it's 48 times cheaper in Bolivia.

Fools and their money are like an old man's hairdo - always parted.

Last time I visited the local Belg beer cafe, a 375ml of Chimay Blue was $25.

We left without buying anything.

I will laugh at the front door when they go broke.

In their defence (and I say this as someone with no money to spend most weeks - especially not $45 on one glass of beer), they do stock a huge array of beers not available readily in other parts of melbourne and they are in the middle of fed square so I imagine the overheads and rental are pretty massive.

I sometimes work at Fed square (at the gallery, not at beer deluxe) and have enjoyed a few beers there. I can always get something I've never tried before. Never had any issues with any of the bar staff either - at least they know something about the beer, unlike the lovely lady who sold me a big glass of vegemite at a local pub (Thankyou Buckleys).

All that said - finding a pub in the suburbs with a few less than usual beers on tap and available in pints for not much more than Cralton pints is a magical find.

I can second this. I went in there to try Shawn's Fault and was told that I probably shouldn't get it as it'd be too intense. That and the nearly 3 extra dollars per pot they charged over the Local made me pretty resolute never to go back there again.

After a recent trip to Sydney, my dad rang Liquor and Gaming and Hotels Assoc and questioned why beer prices in Perth are so much more than in the eastern states. The explanation was that eastern states pubs tend to offset the cost of their licenses and alcohol tax with pokies, so the average pub can get away with charging less for a pint. This flows on to pubs without pokies, as they have to be competitive in what they charge per glass.

While $18/pint might be excessive, I can deal with some overhead to ensure that live music venues stay live music venues, rather than being converted to pokie havens. We have a casino after all, and one of the best live music scenes in Australia, so perhaps it's worth a few $$$ to keep this going?

Just head to the Dianella hotel instead and get $5 pints during happy hour, or $6.50 for the beer of the week.

10 bucks a pint at Squires in Perth with no live music...

The premium is for a trendy looking pub in this case

Well you could always drink super dry bottles and be a trendy guy in a trendy pub :icon_vomit:

The premium is for a trendy looking pub in this case

CBD rental prices, and lack of local competition result in $10 pints. That and a trendy pub. The only real competition in the area serving cheap drinks is Carnegies, and they're only cheap during happy hour.

The Perth accord, drunken violence, no happy hours etc etc meant the pubs can charge what they want. Liquor licensing board and the city council are happy when the price goes up. Those $10 pints are a reflect of the liquor license that Squires has - in order for them to get the license approved they had to be established as an upmarket steakhouse and price their drinks accordingly.