12.8% Alc. Is This Reading Right?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DustyRusty

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm pretty new to homebrewing. Downloaded the BrewMate program at the suggestion of my homebrew store guy. Loved it. With my latest brew, I was aiming at a 7% Alc. Brown Ale. This is what I did:

4.5kg LME Amber
1.5kg LME Light
Cara Dark 400g
Choc 300g
Crystal 200g
Pacific Gem 20g (60m)
Pacific Gem 15g (20m)
Fuggles 30g (5m)
Fuggles 30g (0m)
Safale-S04

Yeah it's big i know. I like big beers.

When I took the OG it came up as 1.122! I almost crapped my pants coz on my hydometer it told me that was a dessert wine. It finished at 1.030, which on nearly every calculator gives me a reading of around 12.8% ABV and a 73% apparent attenuation.

Can this be right? Have i made a Barley Wine accidently?

My last brew was an Imperial Stout and clocked at arond 8.5% but i used the same amount of Malt Extract and similar amount of grains. Why would this one clock so high? Are the lighter malts more fermentable or something? And are my BrewMate calculations way out or actually correct?

Would love some thoughts,

DR

How did you mix in the LME? It may have been that your wort wasn't mixed properly and was higher gravity at the bottom and especially in the actual tap. Your first sample may have thus been tainted.

Assuming you made a 23L batch, your OG reading is about 20 point too high. I'd say it would have been some un-mixed extract in the bottom of the fermenter that got into the hydrometer tube causing the false feading

Hey Mark,