~100L setup questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
RelaxedBrewer said:
Hey guys,

I looking into building ~100L setup with a few mates. We are basically starting a mini brew club with a get together once a month to brew.

Anyway, I have no experience with this kind of volume and have a couple of questions.
  • What kind of burner would I need? Would a 4 ring burner with a high pressure reg cut it?
My last rig was 120L = 120L HLT + 100lt MT + 120L kettle - I could knock out 4 cubes on it in around 5-6 hours including cleaning...
-The kettle was a 120L Alu pot, heated by a rambo burner on a high pressure reg - would take about 30-40 minutes to the boil, after sparging.
-The MT was a Techni Ice [style] ice box with a copper manifold.
- the HLT was a 120L alu pot with ONE 2400w element in it - it had the time to get to temp..

Trick was - heat up your strike water in the MT with OTS element.

Anyway, if you have more than one circuit, I know you will not be adding any circuts to your rented gaff but check your meter box and if you have more than one safety switch you have more than one circuit to use... you just need to work out were the point are wired to.

• I think HERMS would probably be better than an electric RIMS (not sure that a 2200W element would be able to step that volume very well) but don't really know.
The rig mentioned above, was single infusion, no rims or herms and made some amazing beers at volume - don't think step mashing is the ONLY way, YES, it does help in some styles but if you are brewing for volume you will possibly be better off avoiding steps and just getting it right.
  • What pump would you recommend when dealing with these volumes?