~100L setup questions

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RelaxedBrewer

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I looking into building ~100L setup with a few mates. We are basically starting a mini brew club with a get together once a month to brew.

Anyway, I have no experience with this kind of volume and have a couple of questions.
  • What kind of burner would I need? Would a 4 ring burner with a high pressure reg cut it?
  • I think HERMS would probably be better than an electric RIMS (not sure that a 2200W element would be able to step that volume very well) but don't really know.
  • What pump would you recommend when dealing with these volumes?

These are my immediate questions but I am sure that there is a lot that I have not thought of.

Any advice from someone more experienced with larger volume brewing would be much appreciated.

Thanks

RB

I've done a 100L BIAB, and now run a 112L 3V system.

• What kind of burner would I need? Would a 4 ring burner with a high pressure reg cut it?
  • It may, but I would go for either NASA / turkey burners OR go electric.
  • I think HERMS would probably be better than an electric RIMS (not sure that a 2200W element would be able to step that volume very well) but don't really know.
  • I'm doing a 112L batch and 2200w will be too slow. I have a calculator on my website and you will see it's won't cut it. I'm running a 2400w internal RIMS plus the kettle HERMS (HERM-IT) setup. If I was building my system again I would not use the RIMS and would double the HERMS setup.
  • I'm running a March 809, I have no plans of updating it.