Work Wanted, Brewery/brewpub.

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jiesu

Reaction score
Howdy,
Not entirely sure if this is the best place to ask but worth a shot.

Basically I am fairly new to the homebrew world but I am very interested in the whole brewing process (not to mention the results :) )
and also fortunate/unfortunate enough to be self employed in a completely unrelated industry (film and TV)As it turns out their is not alot
of work flowing at the moment and the time has come to look for a secondary income to help pay for my homebrew hobby and all those wonderful
bills that keep filling my inbox. I have no desire to work in a supermarket (again) and am not qualified to do alot of other work so I thought why not
get some part time/casual work doing something I am passionate about and can learn from, HAZAH! brewing!
I have a few initial questions but I'm interested to hear what others think about working in a brewery/brewpub. Firstly, is there
any brew pub owners floating around that need some extra hands on deck occasionally? if not then what do you think is the best approach to
doing a bit of this work in this industry? Do you own a brew pub? Do you need experienced and well trained guys to assist the brewmaster? Is
it possible to get on the job training in this line of work? What makes a good brew assistant? Have you done (or are you doing) this type of work at the
moment? Do you like it?.

I am intrigued to learn more about it, I await your replies.

Cheers

Jake from Sydney.

i dont want to burst your bubble but unless you know somone in the industry, i'd think you would struggle to get voluntary work let alone a paid position. Who knows, you might get lucky!

You think TV is a tough industry to break into! Welcome to Pro brewing!!