Will Excessive Temperature Effect My Brew?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adrianpc

Reaction score
Hello,

Yesterday I started brewing a ESB Easy Brew Bee's Knees Kit. Before adding yeast the temperature was 24Deg C. I am using Safbrew T-58 yeast which the spec sheet says 15-24Deg C. I knew the temperature was slightly higher than what I would like but set the fermenter in the coolest spot in my garage hoping it was slightly cooler there. My garage is 100% dark and 1/2 dug into a slope, so the coolest place is around 1m below the outside ground level.

I can home from work after a stinking hot day in Sydney and the fermenter temperature was 28Deg and the air lock was bubbling about once a second. There was evidence that froth had been on the top of the fermenter lid and a sizeable crusty ring around the water level. As I write this the temperature is still 31 Deg outside, and around 27.5 Deg in my garage and its 11pm!

MY FIRST QUESTION

Will this high temperature affect the brew, Will it still be ok to drink? Lets assume that I can keep the fermenter at or below 24Deg C for the rest of the brew will this one day of hot temperatures have wrecked the taste anyway? Is it still worth me trying to keep the fermenter temp below 24Deg to save my Bees Knees?

MY SECOND QUESTION