White Rabbit Dark Ale Clone

Tried this for the first time tonight. Personally I was quite dissapointed with this beer, I've made better that's for sure.

Re the yeast, +1 on Bum's comments

I never got around to brewing this again because my fermenting fridge has been tied up and have since had a few pints of this fresh from tap at LC's
To me it was a different beast dominated more so by the hops, hiding the yeast ester and malt backbone where as the bottled version i've had was much more balanced

I'm going to go with this for my next brew :

Recipe Specifics
----------------

Batch Size (L): 28.00 Wort Size (L): 28.00
Total Grain (kg): 7.13
Anticipated OG: 1.052 Plato: 12.83
Anticipated EBC: 34.8
Anticipated IBU: 30.2
Brewhouse Efficiency: 65 %
Wort Boil Time: 90 Minutes

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential EBC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
54.7 3.90 kg. Ale Malt Australia 1.038 7
26.6 1.90 kg. Weyermann Munich I Germany 1.038 15
5.0 0.36 kg. Flaked Oats USA 1.033 4
5.0 0.36 kg. JWM Wheat Malt Australia 1.040 4
5.0 0.36 kg. Weyermann Caramunich I Germany 1.036 100
2.5 0.18 kg. JWM Chocolate Malt Australia 1.032 750
1.0 0.07 kg. TF Brown Malt UK 1.033 200

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
10.00 g. Goldings - E.K. Pellet 4.80 5.6 60 min.
25.00 g. Sticklebract Pellet 11.70 9.1 15 min.
25.00 g. Cascade Pellet 7.80 6.0 15 min.
25.00 g. Sticklebract Pellet 11.70 5.7 5 min.
25.00 g. Cascade Pellet 7.80 3.8 5 min.

Yeast
-----

Recultured from Bottle (WRDA)

I wanted to bring this clone thread up again as I am really interested in getting some opinions on recipes for this beer.

Any comments or suggestions?

Had a couple of these and quite like the beer, very close to one of my house faves. So here is my attempt at a clone, uses a good true top cropper also, guess White Rabbit would need to use something similar seeing as they are open fermenting.

Recipe: White Rabbit Dark Ale Clone

Batch Size: 47.00 L
Boil Size: 58.63 L
Boil Time: 90
Estimated OG: 1.054 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.014 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.21 %
Estimated Color: 22.1 SRM
Estimated IBU: 41.4 IBU
Bitterness Ratio: 0.767
Brewhouse Efficiency: 82.00 %

75.00% Pale Malt, (Joe White)
12.00% Munich, Dark
5.00% Carafa II
3.00% Cara-Pils
2.50% Crystal (Dark)
2.50% Crystal (Pale)
35 IBU Super Alpha (90 min) hops
1g/l Cascade (15 min) hops
2 Pkgs London Ale III (Wyeast Labs #1318)e
1g/l Sticklebract (Flowers) (Dry Hop 5 days) Hops -

Mash
Water sdjustment 120ppm CaSO4
Mash-in/Saccharification 75 min @ 66.0 C
Mash Out 10 min @ 77.0 C

This would be my attempt:

Not sure on the colour or the IBU's... might be around 30ibu's?

White Rabbit Clone

Original Gravity (OG): 1.052
Colour (SRM): 16.2 (~30 EBC)
Bitterness (IBU): 25

87% Pale Ale Malt
10% Munich I
3% Carafa I malt

0.7 g/l Super Alpha (Leaf) (12% Alpha) @ 90 Minutes (Boil)

0.5 g/l Cascade (Leaf,NZ/Tassie) (7.8% Alpha) @ whirlpool
0.5 g/l Stickebract (Leaf) (14% Alpha) @ whirlpool

Single step Infusion at 66C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 90 Minutes

Fermented at 18c with Wyeast 1187 - Ringwood Ale OR cultured up bottle yeast

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

Hey Jimmeh,

That recipe looks tops, you're probably right simplicity is the key.

Would be keen to do a collaboration brewday of that recipe with ya!

i'll see if i can borrow Darryn's MOAMT (Mother of All Mash Tuns)

Rob.

Edit: Thinking about it a bit more i do think it needs a bit of crystal...just for that toffee flavor and hint of sweetness

This sounds like a brewday project to me!

I don't think Carafa I though, I reckon there is black malt as 3% carafa I you would taste and I don't think it tends to throw a red enough hue myself.

Sounds like a good excuse for us all to drink a six pack to culture up enough yeast :eek:

sixpack each at the breakfast table

My take on WRDA -

White Rabbit Dark ale

3kg Ale
1.5 kg Munich 1
300gm Crystal
300gm Choc
300gm Wheat
500gm Oats

Hops - Cascade 30gm at 60 mins and 30gm at 10 mins

I adjusted this to use Fuggles and Chinook as well as Cascade but reduced it to 15gm Chinoock and 15gm Cascade at 60 mins and 30gm fuggles at flame out, in addition to an increased amount of Choc, Crystal (dark) and wheat (up to 500gm each) for my last brew and was VERY happy with the results although looked more Porterish and was around the 6.5 - 8% mark (two seperate brews)..

I have to admit I am a HUGE fan of the WRDA, but the last couple of times I have had it I have found it not quite up to the mark.. Perhaps it was just old stock.. :-0 but will def be trying to salvage enough yeast for a brew from my next six pack... he he

Would appreciate thoughts on the use of these quantities and types of HOPS..

Matt

This would be my attempt:

Not sure on the colour or the IBU's... might be around 30ibu's?

That'd be a pretty good guess, though I'd double the colour.

Other thoughts...

- Yes more than a touch of crystal would be appropriate.
- Some relatively heavy hopping in the beer really accentuates what would otherwise be quite a moderate roastiness.
- Culture some yeast up from a 6-pack if you want the brewery strain! Otherwise just choose your favourite English ale yeast.

Hi Kai!

How does this look? I've upped the colour, hops and added some crystal. It doesn't taste particularly sweet to me so it's only a small amount of crystal.

White Rabbit Clone v2

Original Gravity (OG): 1.052 (P): 13.0
Colour (SRM): 25.5 (EBC): 50.2
Bitterness (IBU): 30.9 (Tinseth)

81% Pale Ale Malt
10% Munich I
6% Carafa I malt
3% Crystal 60 (domestic?)

0.9 g/l Super Alpha (12% Alpha) @ 90 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/l Cascade (7.8% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/l Stickebract (14% Alpha) @ 0 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 90 Minutes

Fermented at 18c with cultured bottle yeast.

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

Rob, that would be awesome mate if we can nail this recipe!

Jim

Am gunna give Screwy's recipe a lash and see how it comes out

I have changed it a little for my no-chill system:-

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Screwy's White Rabbit Dark Ale
Brewer: Barley Belly
Asst Brewer:
Style: American Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 22.00 L
Boil Size: 28.48 L
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 46.6 EBC
Estimated IBU: 27.4 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 68.0 %
Boil Time: 75 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
3.75 kg MaltEurop Australia Ale (3.5 EBC) Grain 71.4 %
0.75 kg Munich Dark (Weyermann) (23.0 EBC) Grain 14.3 %
0.25 kg Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 4.8 %
0.20 kg Carafa Special II (Weyermann) (1050.0 EBC) Grain 3.8 %
0.15 kg Crystal Dark (Crisp) (240.0 EBC) Grain 2.9 %
0.15 kg Crystal Pale (Crisp) (100.0 EBC) Grain 2.9 %
18.00 gm Super Alpha [13.00%] (40 min) Hops 23.8 IBU
20.00 gm Cascade [7.80%] (5 min) Hops 3.6 IBU
10.00 gm Sticklebract [13.50%] (0 min) Hops -
20.00 gm Sticklebract [13.50%] (Dry Hop 5 days) Hops -

You guys are close with the grain bill IMO but I reccon the hops finish with Simcoe or Chinook, & definitely EKG on the bottom end. But I am amazed no one is talking about the big raspberry flavour & aroma of this wonderfull beer. I have been playing with cloning this beer for a couple of weeks now & am getting close using Cascade raspberry syrup in the keg. But we all know the sypup is going to continue fermenting, so pasturising before kegging is the go.
I came across this wonderfully flavoursome beer a few months back when I was visiting Geelong & had my share of them at the Scottish Chieftan Hotel, the draught version was far better than the stubs we get from Dan Murpheys up here in Rockhampton.
If you wish to persue these type of flavoured beers, try a Belview Kriek, quite a bit more over the top fruit wise, but a beer none-the-less.
If you are a trophey hunter, try entering your WR clone in the next comp. It will be a standout in the specialty section amoungst all the chilli beers, mango beers, rauchbiers, roggenbiers, krieks & ginger beers, the judges will thank you........

Yours in brewing real beer
The Mexican

I have been playing with cloning this beer for a couple of weeks now & am getting close using Cascade raspberry syrup in the keg. But we all know the sypup is going to continue fermenting, so pasturising before kegging is the go.

If you wish to persue these type of flavoured beers, try a Belview Kriek, quite a bit more over the top fruit wise, but a beer none-the-less.
If you are a trophey hunter, try entering your WR clone in the next comp. It will be a standout in the specialty section amoungst all the chilli beers, mango beers, rauchbiers, roggenbiers, krieks & ginger beers, the judges will thank you........

The Mexican

You are kidding right :blink:

So that's the secret ingredient Kai :lol:

Heres my attempt at a WRDA Clone came out quite nice got big hit of chocolate on the nose was very surprised great ruby highlights when held up to the light Could have added more hops for more aroma. Probably should have French pressed some Cascade and added to keg. Overall, not exactly a clone but very sessionable for a dark ale

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Right Wabbit
Brewer: Argon
Asst Brewer:
Style: American Brown Ale
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 38.00 L
Boil Size: 42.40 L
Estimated OG: 1.051 SG
Estimated Color: 49.9 EBC
Estimated IBU: 24.7 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
5.30 kg Pale Malt (2 Row) US (3.9 EBC) Grain 56.99 %
2.60 kg Munich Malt (17.7 EBC) Grain 27.96 %
0.70 kg Chocolate Malt (689.5 EBC) Grain 7.53 %
0.35 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (19.7 EBC) Grain 3.76 %
0.35 kg Wheat Malt, Bel (3.9 EBC) Grain 3.76 %
66.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [4.80 %] (60 min) Hops 19.3 IBU
58.00 gm Cascade [7.80 %] (5 min) Hops 5.5 IBU
1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, No Mash Out
Total Grain Weight: 9.30 kg
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body, No Mash Out
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
90 min Mash In Add 24.27 L of water at 70 C 66.0 C

Notes:
------

----------------------

oops almost forgot the rasberry cordial :lol:

You guys are close with the grain bill IMO but I reccon the hops finish with Simcoe or Chinook, & definitely EKG on the bottom end. But I am amazed no one is talking about the big raspberry flavour & aroma of this wonderfull beer. I have been playing with cloning this beer for a couple of weeks now & am getting close using Cascade raspberry syrup in the keg. But we all know the sypup is going to continue fermenting, so pasturising before kegging is the go.
I came across this wonderfully flavoursome beer a few months back when I was visiting Geelong & had my share of them at the Scottish Chieftan Hotel, the draught version was far better than the stubs we get from Dan Murpheys up here in Rockhampton.

The Mexican

I can't find your recipe in the database. It sounds like you've nailed the White Rabbit.

I reckon most of those clone recipes would hit reasonably close to the mark. So long as it tastes like what you aim for then it's a job well done, whether you use different hops, malt or raspberries.

For a good fresh rabbit though I'd suggest a little dry hopping, and maybe a variety you wouldn't expect :)

I reckon most of those clone recipes would hit reasonably close to the mark. So long as it tastes like what you aim for then it's a job well done, whether you use different hops, malt or raspberries.

For a good fresh rabbit though I'd suggest a little dry hopping, and maybe a variety you wouldn't expect :)

Yeh I got a little pepper, not sure of what hop is used to give it off though

You are kidding right :blink:

So that's the secret ingredient Kai :lol:

Nup..... not kidding old mate,,, pour gently & have a look in the bottom of a WR stubbie, you don't get that colour from malt or hops.....

Regards
The Mexican