Which Bottles To Use?

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

david d

Reaction score
Hi Im only new to brewing and was wondering if Pure Blonde green bottles are suitable for capping. and if
not can you recomend a bottle to try and accumulate

Ta

Dave

Ok DD

The green bottles will probably be ok for a couple of brews but generally the stubbies are a PITA to bottle and clean. You need tallies and preferably crown seals. Coopers are best and IMO the old XXXX tallie are the best. Screwtops are generally thinner at the crown are prone to chipping.

Cheers

Chappo

old xxxx crown seals for the win!!

thanks
but there's got to br a better poption than XXXX
Im a Sydney Boy :D :lol: :D

thanks
but there's got to br a better poption than XXXX
Im a Sydney Boy :D :lol: :D

Eeeeeewww! A dirty cockroach!

wii_cockroach.jpg

Best bet is the Coopers then check ebay, local recyclers, local brew club, local pub and or buy 4 cartons and start drinking heavily. :p

Hi Im only new to brewing and was wondering if Pure Blonde green bottles are suitable for capping. and if

Ta

Dave

You can probably use any bottle but my preference runs towards 750 mL coopers and 500 mL European type (erdinger, schofferhofer etc).

Strong, crown seals and bottle conditioned as my own beers are so made to withstand natural carbonation. Also dark glass to resist light skunking.

Here I go, against the tide.

Mate, if you like stubbies, stick with stubbies.

As far as tallies/long necks go, then coopers bottles wins, without doubt, they are in a class all of their own.