Wheat Critique Please

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slurpdog

Reaction score
Hi all

Currently have a kit wheat on the go and would like some feedback on my recipe/process as I'm new to wheat and not very familiar with the style.
Recipe is:

1 x Coopers Brewmaster Wheat kit
1 x 1.5 kg Coopers wheat extract
30gms of Czech Saaz hop pellets
Wyeast 3944 liquid yeast.

Boiled the wheat extract for 30 mins.
Added 15gms of Saaz at 15 mins
Added 15gms of Saaz at flameout.
Added kit at flameout.

I've currently got the mix cooling down in a cold water bath and would like some advice/feedback on the recipe.
I was going to top the whole mix up to 23 litres but am open on the total volume. Any thoughts?

Also what sould I be aiming for as a ferment temp range? I have a temp controlled fridge so I can ferment at any temp (Although there is a porter in there at the moment fermenting at 18-20 deg). Would this temp pose a problem for the 3944 yeast?

I wanted to keep the recipe basic as I'm more interested in what characteristics this yeast is going to throw.

yeast will work 16-24 deg. Looks like a nice recipe! Next time you do a wheat, try the morgans kit. Ive tried both, the morgans produced a much nicer beer.

yeast will work 16-24 deg. Looks like a nice recipe! Next time you do a wheat, try the morgans kit. Ive tried both, the morgans produced a much nicer beer.

Going to the LHBS today and will grab a Morgans kit as suggested A'man.
The recipe above drank great.
Very smooth and a nice hint of banana on the nose.
The missus rates it so it must've been good. She almost cried when the keg ran out but.........I bottled the extra and she doesn't know about those. ;)

I'm wondering if you are trying to create a Belgian or German wheat beer.