Whats In The Glass

Batz said:
Budvar Lager clone.

Spot on the real thing, not everyones cup of tea but nice after a big one at the cave last night, it's perfect.

Recipe please Batz, love that Budvar and would love to bang out a batch or 4...

Doc's Golden Ale with rye malt and NZ hops (B Saaz and Kohatu)

8519839831_c32cc3db11.jpg

Imagine a cross between pale ale beer and a Street's 'Splice' iceblock. Big time pine-lime spice but with that creamy thing you get with icecream/Pina Colada. Its all good, citrusy, spicy, crisp.

Recipe below

GAA-2 (American Pale Ale)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.046 (°P): 11.4
Final Gravity (FG): 1.012 (°P): 3.1
Alcohol (ABV): 4.52 %
Colour (SRM): 7.7 (EBC): 15.2
Bitterness (IBU): 34.1 (Average)

46.38% Dry Malt Extract - Extra Light
23.19% Munich I
23.19% Rye Malt
7.25% Caramunich I

0.5 g/L B Saaz (6.8% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.5 g/L Kohatu (6.8% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.7 g/L B Saaz (6.8% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
0.7 g/L Kohatu (6.8% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil)
1 g/L B Saaz (6.8% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
1 g/L Kohatu (6.8% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil)
0.5 g/L B Saaz (6.8% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop)
0.5 g/L Kohatu (6.8% Alpha) @ 0 Days (Dry Hop)

0.1 g/L Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) @ 0 Minutes (Mash)
0.0 g/L Whirlfloc Tablet @ 0 Minutes (Boil)
0.2 g/L Yeast Nutrient @ 0 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 18°C with Safale US-05

Crash chill at 2degC before dry hopping

Warra's American Pale Ale, another from the everlasting the Mid North Coast beer swap ;)

8550213983_17240348dc.jpg

Nice golden copper colour, slightly hazy with persistent white head. Bright citrus hop notes when first poured drifting towards a herbal note when warm. Warra said that he used a bittering hop (I think it was Magnum?) at 30mins which may have contributed to this. Malt is clean with some honey notes again as it warms. Ends clean and balanced.

Overall a great example of the style. Thanks Warra!

Scottish Ale 70/- Nice beer indeed, and you can have a couple, not so the case with the 80/- I normally brew.

In my new glass that cost me $1.66 .

DSCF3049.JPG

Very nice Batz, does it taste better in the correct glass? :p

Looks like like your slice of heaven just got a little greener. Looking beautiful from the deck.

AndrewQLD said:
Very nice Batz, does it taste better in the correct glass? :p

Not really mate, but it does make me smile.

Sorry about the bird crap in the piccy, just noticed that. :lol: :lol:

Dark IPA mistake brew.

Neanderthal said:
I was in a bit of a hurry and thought I would do two parrtials at once.

Typically rushing about I got a bit careless.

I mixed the fermenters up and ended up putting the Coopers IPA can into the Munton Nut Brown Ale fermenter

Anyway,only time will tell if it is drinkable.

1 can Coopers IPA
1 can coopers amber malt

Steeped for 30 mins in oven at 60c.
125g chocolate malt
125g caramunich 11
15g Cascade hops

Added to fermentor
200g Corn syrup powder
250g wheat malt.

WP_20130314_001.jpg

Batz said:
Naughty birdee.
Has Banjo been bludging?

Batz said:
Yeah, I was going to replace the pic of my kids and use it as a screensaver, but the birdshit spoiled it.

So.

Bit dry up your neck of the woods eh?

Found a relic. Collaboration brew day 1 barley wine. Hmmmm old :drool: . Hops have faded (was US barleywine) its now all about thick malt, plums raisins brown sugar. A bit of oxidation on the finish but its been in a PET for 3 yrs. Marvellious... kind of like drinking Westvleteren without bwlgian characteristics. Nom nom nom

West-Coast style AIPA sitting pretty in my newly minted custom etched glassware. Thought I would make an effort with the photo for once rather than a flash photo against the kitchen splashback. Still limited by point and click camera, might have to borrow the work DSLR to get a crispy one.

8564483804_0030831ce0.jpg

pommiebloke 002 (768x1024).jpg

enjoying Pommieblokes nelson sauvin summer ale ,

very nice ale mate , great aroma, great colour , maybe a tad cloudy but am sure will clear with age , nicely bittered , luberly hoppy goodness :icon_drool2:
overall a bloody good beer .

Waqgastew's Little Fella's Pale Ale.
It's in the style of Little Creatures Pale Ale.

What a fabulous beer this is. Hugely enjoyed it, and was sorry when I drained the last of the glass.

Very finely beaded head, not big, but it lasts all the way down the glass, and it sticks to the glass right to the end.
Lovely and very clean malt character, but it's the hops which really shine in this beer.
It's beautifully balanced, with a fantastic citrussy and fruity hop nose and flavour.
I could still taste the beer several minutes after the last draught. The flavour just lingered.

I'd rate this as waggastew's best beer I've tasted to date. And, of course, it was consumed in one of waggastew's own special glasses.

IMG_2052.jpg

Euro Lager with two hallertau mit additions. Doesn't have heaps of 'that' lager taste but still pretty happy.

http--,,--//
1092697.jpg

No worries.

The first cube (the beer in the pic) was fermented at 14' with Swiss lager dry yeast. Not bad at all, low esters and pretty clean. The second cube was pitched cold at 7' (cheers Dent) with a huge slurry of Swiss and then lagered for two weeks @ 1'. It has been sitting in a keg for two weeks. I am not going to touch it for another two weeks if I can. Disclaimer- I am not a lager expert!

Batch Size (L): 48.0
Total Grain (kg): 9.200
Total Hops (g): 73.00
Original Gravity (OG): 1.042 (°P): 10.5
Final Gravity (FG): 1.008 (°P): 2.1
Alcohol by Volume (ABV): 4.46 %
Colour (SRM): 4.0 (EBC): 7.8
Bitterness (IBU): 23.3 (Average - No Chill Adjusted)
Brewhouse Efficiency (%): 71
Boil Time (Minutes): 90

Grain Bill
----------------
9.000 kg Galaxy Malt (97.83%)
0.200 kg Melanoidin (2.17%)

Hop Bill
----------------
40.0 g Hallertau Mittlefrueh Pellet (6.3% Alpha) @ 90 Minutes (First Wort) (0.8 g/L)
33.0 g Hallertau Mittlefrueh Pellet (6.3% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

Misc Bill
----------------

Single step Infusion at 65°C for 90 Minutes.
Fermented at 14°C with Saflager S-189