What are you brewing II ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
At least you managed to get it into the kettle Schooey, they can be a pita without the rice hulls.

Here's what I ended up with today 1 x Heffe Weizen and 1 x Dunkelweizen Looking forward to these on New Years eve.

Recipe: DunkleWeizen
Brewer: Andrew Clark
Asst Brewer:
Style: Dunkelweizen
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 25.00 L
Boil Size: 30.64 L
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 30.7 EBC
Estimated IBU: 16.7 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
2.45 kg Wheat Malt, Dark (Weyermann) (13.8 EBC) Grain 47.57 %
1.45 kg Munich II (Weyermann) (16.7 EBC) Grain 28.16 %
1.00 kg Pilsner Malt, Galaxy (Barrett Burston) (3.Grain 19.42 %
0.10 kg Caraaroma (Weyermann) (400.0 EBC) Grain 1.94 %
0.10 kg Crystal Malt - 60L (Thomas Fawcett) (145.0Grain 1.94 %
0.05 kg Carafa Special III (Weyermann) (1300.0 EBCGrain 0.97 %
11.00 gm Magnum [15.00 %] (60 min) Hops 16.7 IBU
1.00 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Primary 3.0 days) Misc
1 Pkgs Weihenstephan Weizen (Wyeast Labs #3068) Yeast-Wheat

Recipe: Oh to be Weizen
Brewer: Andrew Clark
Asst Brewer:
Style: Weizen/Weissbier
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 28.19 L
Estimated OG: 1.049 SG
Estimated Color: 5.3 EBC
Estimated IBU: 17.8 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %

------------
2.40 kg Pilsner Malt, (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 50.00 %
2.40 kg Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) (2.4 EBC) Grain 50.00 %
25.00 gm Hallertauer Tradition [6.50 %] (60 min) Hops 17.8 IBU
2.00 gm Chalk, calcium carbonate (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
2.50 ml Lactic Acid (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
3.50 gm Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Weihenstephan Weizen (Wyeast Labs #3068) Yeast-Wheat

Another Broon (12A. Brown Porter)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.048
Colour (SRM): 26.9
Bitterness (IBU): 28.1

79% Pale Malt
8% Brown Malt
8% Crystal 40
5% Chocolate

2 g/l East Kent Golding @ 60 Minutes

Single step Infusion at 66*C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 90 Minutes

Fermented at 20*c with Danstar Nottingham

Recipe Generated with BrewMate

First day of Chrissy holidays and Mid Boil of this one right now.

Best Bitter.

3kg BB Ale
1kg Vienna
0.5kg Aromatic
0.15kg Carared
0.1g Choc Malt
0.25g Rolled Oats

mashed at 65

40g China Cluster @ 60min
21g First Gold @ 15min
20g Styrian Goldings @ 0min

Aiming for 25 L @ 1045.

Cheers Brad

Im lazy, so an ESB Aussie Pale Ale Fresh Wort, CPA Recultured yeast,

I needed to do something easy and decent as its going to be the first beer in my new keg system next week :D

Decided to brew this today... another attempt at a witbier. Currently 39degrees in the garage with the boiler going. Talk about working up a thirst!

Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential EBC
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
48.6 2.25 kg. Wheat, Unmalted 1.034 8
51.4 2.38 kg. Weyermann Pilsner Germany 1.038 4

Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
20.00 g. Hallertauer Tradition Pellet 5.70 17.8 60 min.

Extras

Amount Name Type Time
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
1.00 gm Chamomile flowers (dried) Herb 5 Min.(boil)
3.00 gm Corriander Seed Spice 5 Min.(boil)
100.00 gm Sweet Orange Peel Spice 5 Min.(boil)

Yeast
-----

WYeast 3944 Belgian White Beer

Mash Schedule
-------------

Mash Name:

Total Grain kg: 4.63
Total Water Qts: 9.81 - Before Additional Infusions
Total Water L: 9.28 - Before Additional Infusions

Step Rest Start Stop Heat Infuse Infuse Infuse
Step Name Time Time Temp Temp Type Temp Amount Ratio
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
protein rest 5 20 52 52 Infuse 58 9.28 2.01
sacc rest 5 60 65 65 Infuse 75 14.95 5.24

Horny Heifer (expurgated)
I need to spend more time here. I missed this bit of excitement.

Any chance of saving me a 300ml PET bottle full, Tony?

About to dough in a Yank Blonde (bottle Blonde?) soon. Recipe follows:

Bottle Blonde ale
Brew Type: All Grain Date: 20-12-09
Style: Blonde Ale Brewer: Seth
Batch Size: 25.00 L Assistant Brewer: n/a
Boil Volume: 31.09 L Boil Time: 60 min
Brewhouse Efficiency: 80.0 % Equipment: Seth - 50 litre Esky and 75 litre kettle

Ingredients Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.50 kg Pale ale (BB) Grain 95.2 %
0.23 kg Carahell (Weyermann) (25.6 EBC) Grain 4.8 %
27.50 gm Glacier [6.00%] (60 min) Hops 16.9 IBU
1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056) [Cultured] Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile Estimated Original Gravity: 1.047 SG (1.038-1.054 SG) Measured Original Gravity: 1.046 SG
Estimated Final Gravity: 1.011 SG (1.008-1.013 SG)
Estimated Color: 6.8 EBC (5.9-11.8 EBC) Color [Color]
Bitterness: 16.9 IBU (15.0-28.0 IBU) Alpha Acid Units: 0.9 AAU
Estimated Alcohol by Volume: 4.6 % (3.8-5.5 %)

Simple and delicious recipe for easy Summer drinking. Hopefully this is the least problematic blonde I deal with this year (haha).
Enough for a keg, and a few stubbies for mates.

Happy brewing, people :p

sorry to be a pain, but I just like to see the boil time of the hops...

Sorry, here with times, AA% and IBU contributions. Upped the Simcoe to 12g on brewday.

25.00 gm Centennial [9.40 %] (60 min) Hops 15.6 IBU
12.00 gm Simcoe [11.90 %] (60 min) Hops 9.5 IBU
30.00 gm Amarillo Gold [8.40 %] (20 min) Hops 5.6 IBU
30.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (15 min) Hops 2.9 IBU

Mashed in a version of Batz Altbier with some wheat added.

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: 16 Batz Altbier

Recipe Specifications
Batch Size: 25.00 L
Boil Size: 33.00 L
Estimated OG: 1.054 SG
Estimated Color: 20.2 SRM
Estimated IBU: 34.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %

------------
3.12 kg Pale Malt (3.0 SRM) Grain 47.08 %
2.75 kg Munich (9.0 SRM) Grain 41.43 %
0.40 kg Wheat (2.5 SRM) Grain 6.03 %
0.31 kg Caramalt (125.0 SRM) Grain 4.71 %
0.05 kg Choc Malt (1200.0 SRM) Grain 0.75 %
12.62 gm Chinese Marco Polo [12.00 %] (60 min) Hops 14.5 IBU
18.94 gm Chinese Marco Polo [12.00 %] (45 min) Hops 20.0 IBU
0.63 items Whirlfloc (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs 1056 (Wyeast) Yeast-Ale

Notes:
------
Mash in 3.10pm at 66 deg

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Any chance of saving me a 300ml PET bottle full, Tony?

Will do , Les. I kegged it this afternoon, kind of following the zwickel method. Fermented for 5 days, and will let secondary carb it in the keg. I'll put it in the cold the day after boxing day and see how it is on the 29th/30th and whether we need to top up with CO2. It tastes pretty good on the way to the keg, very pale, should be a real quaffer with a bit of spritz

wanted to brew this morning.....outside temp around -16 (minus sixteen!) everything is frozen, hard like stones.
But Im a passionate brewer, not a candy-arse.
Tried to fill the mashtun with water, sh...t....the water hose is frozen as well, no water comes out. Hmmm....what to do now :angry:
Took some water from inside the house, just to warm up the hose, turned on the gas burner.....aaargh....a little flame only, not enough to heat up the whole batch, the gas is also too cold to get enough power, not to think about boiling 75l of wort. Meanwhile I almost cannot move my fingers anymore. All the gear is much too cold to grip on and my feet start to freeze.

Finally I gave up....what a f....ng day

Im a brewer, get me out of here

wanted to brew this morning.....outside temp around -16 (minus sixteen!) everything is frozen, hard like stones.
But Im a passionate brewer, not a candy-arse.
Tried to fill the mashtun with water, sh...t....the water hose is frozen as well, no water comes out. Hmmm....what to do now :angry:
Took some water from inside the house, just to warm up the hose, turned on the gas burner.....aaargh....a little flame only, not enough to heat up the whole batch, the gas is also too cold to get enough power, not to think about boiling 75l of wort. Meanwhile I almost cannot move my fingers anymore. All the gear is much too cold to grip on and my feet start to freeze.

Finally I gave up....what a f....ng day

Im a brewer, get me out of here

We're ready when you are mate! You know you want too :lol:

Never freezing here

Pumpy's Saison
Saison

Type: All Grain
Date: 19/12/2009
Batch Size: 40.00 L
Brewer: Pumpy
Boil Size: 47.96 L
Asst Brewer: Franko (No Show)
Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: My Equipment 40
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 85.00
Taste Notes:

Ingredients

7.54 kg Weyermann Pilsner (3.9 EBC) Grain 78.68 %
0.54 kg JWM Wheat Malt (3.9 EBC) Grain 5.62 %
0.54 kg Weyermann Munich I (15.8 EBC) Grain 5.62 %
0.10 kg TF caramunich 2 Grain 1.04 %
100.00 gm Styrian Goldings [5.40 %] (60 min) Hops 26.6 IBU
40.00 gm Saaz [4.00 %] (0 min) Hops -
2.00 gm Dry Chamomile Flowers (Boil 5.0 min) Misc
1.00 tsp Koppafloc (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
2.12 tsp Yeast Nutrient (Primary 3.0 days) Misc
1.5 gm Seeds of Paradise (Boil 5.0 min) Misc
8.46 oz Oak Chips (Secondary 7.0 days) Misc
10.56 gm Calcium Chloride (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
42.27 gm Coriander Seed (Boil 5.0 min) Misc
0.87 kg Cane (Beet) Sugar (0.0 EBC) Sugar 9.03 %
2 Pkgs Belgian Saison (Wyeast Labs #3724) Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.067 SG
Measured Original Gravity: 1.010 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.014 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.005 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 6.91 % Actual Alcohol by Vol: 0.65 %
Bitterness: 26.6 IBU Calories: 90 cal/l
Est Color: 8.5 EBC Color: Color

Mash Profile

Mash Name: Single Infusion, Light Body, Batch Sparge Total Grain Weight: 8.72 kg
Sparge Water: 34.95 L Grain Temperature: 22.2 C
Sparge Temperature: 75.6 C TunTemperature: 22.2 C
Adjust Temp for Equipment: TRUE Mash PH: 5.4 PH

Single Infusion, Light Body, Batch Sparge Step Time Name Description Step Temp
75 min Mash In Add 22.73 L of water at 70.4 C 64.0 C

We're ready when you are mate! You know you want too :lol:

Never freezing here

Thanks Screwy, many thanks, thats what Im dreaming of :)

Its not only the cold that pisses me off, its also the dollars (euros) they run through the gas and electricity meter on days like that.

Lucky people over there, you are :icon_cheers:

Thanks Screwy, many thanks, thats what Im dreaming of :)

Its not only the cold that pisses me off, its also the dollars (euros) they run through the gas and electricity meter on days like that.

Lucky people over there, you are :icon_cheers:

But in a month or so we shall have 40+ degree days!

That is one helluva story of the trials of the extreme cold for brewing...

Fingers crossed for a warm spell to allow Zwickel to brew soon! :icon_cheers:

Altbier ( sort of )

4.300 Galaxy
0.700 Munich
0.050 Pale Choc

Northern Brewer @ 60 and Czech Saaz @ 20 to 24 IBU

US-05

Brewing this afternoon:

Batch - 23L

1kg Ale malt
1kg Pilsner malt
1kg Wheat malt
2kg MunichI malt
100g CaraMunichI
200g Chocolate malt

Tettnanger 30g @ 60min
Tettnanger 20g @ 30min
Tettnanger 10g @ 15min

Brewcraft Wheat Beer yeast

Going to sweat out yesterdays stale beer by hand cranking the marga and brew a batch of UXB Belgian Ale. I might even brew a batch of Acerola Pale if time permits.

Acerola Pale Ale (Sour)

4.00 kg Pilsner, Malt Craft Export (Joe White) (1.6 SRM) Grain 86.77 %
0.50 kg Munich Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 10.85 %
0.11 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (120.0 SRM) Grain 2.39 %
16.00 gm Pacific Gem [15.00 %] (60 min) Hops 26.1 IBU
1.00 kg Acerola "Cherries" (Secondary 5.0 min) Misc
yeast - french saison slurry

Bah humbug! one of my double plugger thongs died while brewing the UXB so the batch of Acerola Sour will have to wait until after Santa. Can't breach safety regs can we.
(lacking a few kg of Pils malt didn't help either :rolleyes: )

First day of Chrissy holidays and Mid Boil of this one right now.

Best Bitter.

3kg BB Ale
1kg Vienna
0.5kg Aromatic
0.15kg Carared
0.1g Choc Malt
0.25g Rolled Oats

mashed at 65

40g China Cluster @ 60min
21g First Gold @ 15min
20g Styrian Goldings @ 0min

Aiming for 25 L @ 1045.

Cheers Brad

Brad, I see you are using Chinese Cluster in a UK style for the bittering, I've done 2 brews similar using 50g of Cluster - one finished with 20g Northdown at 10 mins and the other with 20g Challenger 10 mins.
I racked the first one into CC today and had a sneaky :icon_drool2: :icon_drool2:
The Chinee Cluster seems to be shaping up as the Fuggle you have when you aren't having a Fuggle. Hey wouldn't it be an upset if you or I took out a place in the February BABBs mini comp with a Chinese hopped Bitter hahaha B)

Brad, I see you are using Chinese Cluster in a UK style for the bittering, I've done 2 brews similar using 50g of Cluster - one finished with 20g Northdown at 10 mins and the other with 20g Challenger 10 mins.
I racked the first one into CC today and had a sneaky :icon_drool2: :icon_drool2:
The Chinee Cluster seems to be shaping up as the Fuggle you have when you aren't having a Fuggle. Hey wouldn't it be an upset if you or I took out a place in the February BABBs mini comp with a Chinese hopped Bitter hahaha B)

Funny you should mention that Michael, I had a sneak taste last night while getting a hydro sample and thought the same thing. I think the cluster will be good as a bittering for English and a good late addition for aussie beers.
I will also be doing a brew using the chinese hops in a brew using
Cascade @ 60
Cluster @ 15
Sazz @ 0

Cheers Brad

Status
Not open for further replies.