Welding 2 Stainless Vessels Together

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RetsamHsam

Reaction score
Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction.

I am wanting to have 2 50L cylindrical stainless vessels welded together to make a 100L vessel :ph34r: and not being a very experienced welder myself, was wondering if anyone knows where I could get the job done?

Or if anyone in the Sydney area would be able to help me out on my quest in exchange for beer or services :icon_cheers:

Cheers

The type of welding, and who can do it, depends on what you plan on doing with the 100L vessel?
Does it need to be a pressure weld? sanitary? or just structural?

Off'y

It will need to be sanitary, i'm planning on using it as a boiler.

It'll depend a lot on how thick the walls of the vessels are, what particular stainless alloy they're made of, etc.

Assuming they're fairly thin (less than 3mm), then it'll probably have to be tig-welded. Thicker you'll probably get away with mig. And many stainless alloys are quite difficult to weld without causing corrosion-cracking problems, unless the weld procedure is spot on. You'll find it easier to get a quote if you can give them as much information as possible on the thickness of the material, and the alloy. But in any case, the boilermaker will be able to tell you more.

I'd do a yellowpages search for steel fabrication shops in your area that do tig and specifically mention that they do stainless work, and do a ring around. I could recommend a few shops in brisbane to try, but that obviously doesnt help you in sydney.

if they are 50l kegs you can mig them no prob

Yep they are 50L kegs.. So mig welding is the go. Thanks for this guys.