Warm Conditioning In Kegs

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattC

Reaction score
Hey all,

I have a kegerator which at present can fit 6 kegs in it. I only have 4, but am planning on getting more soon. I have been a little impatient with my beers in the past by not giving them the time they deserve to mature and drinking them early.

My question is can i keg a beer and allow it to sit outside of the kegerator in order to mature from the green stage? If so should it be carbed or should I only purge the headspace with CO2? The reason for this is because i dont want to waste the space in the kegerator with beer that im not drinking?

im fairly new to all this...but i leave my keg at fermenting temps for as long as possible next to my fridge til im ready to drink it...just purge the headspace with co2.....then when im ready i fridge it and carb the next day....

im fairly new to all this...but i leave my keg at fermenting temps for as long as possible next to my fridge til im ready to drink it...just purge the headspace with co2.....then when im ready i fridge it and carb the next day....

Hey Tyreman,

How long do you leave them there for prior to chilling, carbing and drinking?

Hey Tyreman,

How long do you leave them there for prior to chilling, carbing and drinking?
Technically you can leave them as long as bottled beer in the keg. So long as you've left a bit of CO2 in it after bottling and purged any oxygen, it should last at warm conditioning temperatures indefinately.

Infact, you can actually carb your kegs up this way by means of natural carbonation...ie adding sugar...as you would bottles. But that's a whole different can of worms.