• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Aussie Home Brewer and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or click here to donate.

Wanted- Beer Bottles!

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baldwinpaul

Reaction score
Hi all, Im just starting out with Homebrew and can't quite bring myself to brew in plastic bottles - Does anyone have any stubbie size bottles they would like to donate? I'm in Melbourne.

Hi all, Im just starting out with Homebrew and can't quite bring myself to brew in plastic bottles - Does anyone have any stubbie size bottles they would like to donate? I'm in Melbourne.

look on ebay, some restaurant is selling em for $10 for 100 VB or crownies.

This may sound a bit low rent, but I collected all the bottles I needed from the bins around my golf club. Surely the bins at restaurants or clubs must be a source.

The bottles were soaked in water overnight to loosen the labels, then emptied and hit with some brewing detergent and given a good internal scrub with bottle brushes.
They were then rinsed and drained, and hit with a no rinse sanitiser before bottling.

I have more than enough stubbies for my needs. I only collect further longnecks now, although I'm close to my full requirement.

There's nothing wrong with PET bottles as such. They work well, and are easy to use, particularly as you don't need a crown capper for them. I still use one PET bottle for most of my batches to check carbonation levels after bottling.

Don't fear the PET.

It's worth brewing your first batch into PET's for a number of reasons:
- No waiting around. Just go down to your local Coles or Big W, and buy em off the shelf. Reasonably priced