Vic X-mas In July 2009 Case Swap - Recipes

:icon_offtopic: Woohoo, I just got another barrel next to my name!!!

Sure hope you guys like sweet beer... Just racked my Kolsch with Polyclar and it's 1.014 still so going to give it a couple of days to come down a point or two before the big chill. I plan to counter-pressure fill the bottles and it should be a real quaffing styled beer (one of the first to be drunk, maybe?) Easily the least bitter beer I've ever made but very clean in taste. Sorry I can't be there on the day. This one will clear up very well, I reckon. :chug:

mine's in the bottle as of today. looked good but had a bit of "twang" to it upon tasting, hopefully a month in the bottle will cure that. i made some extra stubbies for taste and carb testing, if it turns out to be rubbish i'll pull out of the swap - screw giving everyone totally undrinkable beer! i do have hopes for it though, going to be a big bodied malty english bitter with low hopping if all goes well.

mif it turns out to be rubbish i'll pull out of the swap - screw giving everyone totally undrinkable beer!

Just stay in, atleast we can help you acertain if there is an infection or how to improve the recipe/process if it is a failure. Most of all, what if it ends up aging well?!?

Just keep it in mate ;)

Just stay in, atleast we can help you acertain if there is an infection or how to improve the recipe/process if it is a failure. Most of all, what if it ends up aging well?!?

Just keep it in mate ;)
I disagree completely with you here fourstar. Not wanting to sound prudish or whatever, but if you can't be proud of what you've put forward for the offering, don't bother. I for one would not be putting in anything less than i know I'm capable of.

Not wanting to steer people away and put them off, sure with experience and proper feedback people improve their techniques and the results get better. But if i know i made a beer as good as i could, that's what I'd be putting forth. not something that was pretty average.

but maybe that's just me...

(..or maybe I'm just spittin' chips cuz I can't make it)

ps this was not intended to take this off topic. Happy to discuss in another thread or PM me if you have you back up.... back on topic..

i kinda agree with you on that maple (being proud of your swap beer) but ive mande plenty of beers that have turned out great with some decent maturation time which i thaught were less than average to begin with. IMO Time heals all wounds (atleast most of the time) with Kit and bits beers. If its AG however and you are trying to brew a weizen. if its junk out of the fermenter.. its going to stay junk until the keg blows dry.

Neill has a English bitter. I can assume some dark malts, crystals and some complexities going on. I'd feel it would be upsetting if my swap beer which was avg a month into bottling, was awesome in 6 months time. Again IMO.

Either way its Neills choice. If it is a slapper, he can always make up for it with the next case swap and blow us away. Atleast thats my outlook if mine ended up being crapola.

As you poined Maple. Back on topic (not that we really were off topic anyway!) ^_^

beers! :icon_cheers:

Well my wort hit the slurry of my Cream Ale today! Heres hoping no infections or anything NQR affects my brewing schedule for this bad boy. The wort was Uber Citrusy, very mandarin like. i just wanted to drink it as-is. It has a very bright orange hue. Should make an interesting AIPA.

yup mines in the fermentor as of yesterday and going nicely. I made a few adjustments on the fly so the recipe isnt exactly the same as posted. But thats a goodthing I think. the ecu (colour) is about right now i recon where as the recipe in the recipeDB was showing a bit light on in colour. so all good. I recon this will be a cracker so Im glad i made a double batch...even if i did end up with a boil over becasue i was pushing the limits of my setup.

edit: well ive just realised i may have screwed my beer slightly (or bought it back inline with what it should have been originally). I mucked up the hop schedule and instead of being 22 IBU its about 12 IBU. now originally when creating the receipe I was shooting for 15 IBU but decided that i would prefer 20 IBU...so i guess its almost back to orginbal.

any idea on how to bump the bitterness up? Im guessing boil up some more wort with say 20g of hops for 60min and add it into the fermentor?

Holy Phwoah!

Well it looks like my ferment is going psycho! had it explode all over the top of the fermenter! Yikes! Ive never seen 1056 do this before. The cream ale went a little crazy, but nothing this big! Krausen is almost touching the gladwrap ive put on. the inside of the lid was laden with thick krausen!

wow.jpg

wow1.jpg

Holy Phwoah!

Well it looks like my ferment is going psycho! had it explode all over the top of the fermenter! Yikes! Ive never seen 1056 do this before. The cream ale went a little crazy, but nothing this big! Krausen is almost touching the gladwrap ive put on. the inside of the lid was laden with thick krausen!

Not surprised at all - pitching a big beer on a 1056 yeastcake!
That stuff wants to climb out of the fermenter at normal pitching rates.
Take care of your baby - sounds like a choice beer 4star!

Not surprised at all - pitching a big beer on a 1056 yeastcake!
That stuff wants to climb out of the fermenter at normal pitching rates.
Take care of your baby - sounds like a choice beer 4star!

Ive pitched this size beer on a repitch of the same volume before with no ill effects. im shocked at the ferment size! It's going nuts! i use 1056 all the time with standard krausen sizes (2-3 inches) these past 2 batches have been crazy and fighting their way out! I just hope i dont have an infection!

I stroke her every night. i am praying she doesnt end up with and STD! :lol:

Hey guys, keep this thread for the recipe's and not everything other..........

Rook

24. Don Mateo, "Way out Weizen" - Hefeweizen

Type: All Grain
Brewed: June 4 2009
Style: Hefewiezen
Batch Size: 23 L
Boil Volume: 35 L
Boil Time: 2 1/2 hrs, oops

Grain
2.8Kg JW Trad Ale
2.8Kg JW Wheat

Hops
17grams Hallertau Tradition German (3.7 AA) @ start boil

Yeast
Wyeast 3068 starter - thanks Chris.

OG - 1052
FG - 1009
Bottled : 14 June 2009

Single infusion mash @ 65-67 degC, extra long boil to hit right gravity because I mashed with way too much water and didn't realise. Pitched starter @ 24 degC -> overnight to about 20 degC. After that temp between 18degC & 20degC.

Recipe: Smoked Chocolate Porter
Brewer: lucas
Style: Brown Porter
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 45.00 L
Boil Size: 45.92 L
Estimated OG: 1.048 SG
Estimated Color: 26.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 24.1 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 39.60 %
2.50 kg Smoked Malt (Weyermann) (2.0 SRM) Grain 24.75 %
1.50 kg Munich I (Weyermann) (7.1 SRM) Grain 14.85 %
1.25 kg Caramunich II (Weyermann) (63.0 SRM) Grain 12.38 %
0.30 kg Carafa Special II (Weyermann) (415.0 SRM) Grain 2.97 %
0.30 kg Chocolate Malt (300.0 SRM) Grain 2.97 %
0.25 kg Caraaroma (Weyermann) (178.0 SRM) Grain 2.48 %
30.00 gm Magnum [13.50 %] (90 min) Hops 22.3 IBU
20.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [5.00 %] (10 min) Hops 1.9 IBU
1.00 items Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
1.00 tbsp PH 5.2 Stabilizer (Mash 90.0 min) Misc
1.00 items Potassium Metabisulfite (Mash 12.0 hours) Misc

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 10.10 kg

Notes:
------
carafa and pale chocolate ground separately and cold steeped overnight. stirred into mash at first sparging. boil done in 50L kettle, boiled for about an hour to evaporate some wort then topped up with more run off from the mash. probably about 50L preboil, final volume around 42L. NFI what the og was (too lazy to check), FG is a little high at about 1.015-1.020. yeast used was about 2 cups of slurry of wyeast scottish ale yeast (dont know the number off hand)

Ok I know this was supposed to go up a lot earlier.

Now at first glance this looks like one of those really complicated, well crafted, highly developed recipes ... but the more experienced will realise this is commonly known as "what do I have left over in the grain bin again?", and same story with the hops.

BTW this one is best drunk young so drink it soon.

pdf attached:

txt version below:

Recipe: Wiez Amber
Style: 15B. Dunkelweizen

Target Volume [ltr]: 28.00 Alcohol By Volume: 6.09%

Estimated Original Gravity[SG]: 1.061 Estimated Final Gravity[SG]: 1.015
Estimated Attenuation: 75.00% Estimated Mash Efficiency: 70.00%

Bitterness [IBU]: 14.58 Colour [SRM(EBC)]: 17.29 (34.06)
Balance: 0.500 BU:GU ratio: 0.241

Fermentables
Type Gravity [SG] Gravity(%) Weight [gms] Weight(%)
Cara-Pils/Dextrine 1.006 10.28% 900.00 11.02%
Crystal Malt Dark (Bairds) 1.003 4.52% 400.00 4.90%
Crystal Malt Medium (Bairds) 1.002 3.49% 300.00 3.67%
Maris Otter Malt (Bairds) 1.008 12.42% 1000.00 12.24%
Munich II Malt (Weyermann) 1.010 15.73% 1300.00 15.91%
Wheat Caramel Malt (Weyermann) 1.002 3.99% 380.00 4.65%
Wheat Malt (Barrett Burston) 1.030 49.56% 3890.47 47.62%

Hops
Type AA(%) IBU IBU(%) Weight [gms] Time(minutes)
Brewers Gold 8.00% 3.00 20.58% 5.00 60.00
Hallertau Hersbrucker 2.10% 3.93 26.99% 25.00 60.00
Perle 6.00% 7.64 52.43% 17.00 60.00

Yeast
Type
Weihenstephan Weizen - Wyeast 3068

View attachment Brewtoolz___Print_Recipe__Wiez_Amber.pdf

As requested

Wazza's 3 Shades of Stout

Batch Size: 25.00 L Assistant Brewer:
Boil Volume: 32.96 L Boil Time: 90 min
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.0 % Equipment:

Ingredients Amount Item Type % or IBU
3.75 kg Pale Malt, Ale (Barrett Burston) (3.0 EBC) Grain 73.5 %
0.50 kg Brown Malt (268.0 EBC) Grain 9.8 %
0.35 kg Barley, Flaked (Thomas Fawcett) (3.9 EBC) Grain 6.9 %
0.25 kg Chocolate Malt (Joe White) (500.0 EBC) Grain 4.9 %
0.25 kg Roasted Barley (Joe White) (1398.7 EBC) Grain 4.9 %
27.00 gm Pride of Ringwood [10.20%] (60 min) Hops 29.5 IBU
9.00 gm Target [9.00%] (60 min) Hops 8.7 IBU
1.00 gm Epsom Salt (MgSO4) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1.00 gm Gypsum (Calcium Sulfate) (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
5.00 gm Calcium Chloride (Mash 60.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Yorkshire Ale (Wyeast Labs #1469) Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile Estimated Original Gravity: 1.044 SG (1.036-1.050 SG)
Estimated Final Gravity: 1.011 SG (1.007-1.011 SG)
Estimated Color: 71.7 EBC (49.3-88.7 EBC) Color [Color]
Bitterness: 38.1 IBU (30.0-45.0 IBU)

Name Description Step Temp Step Time
Mash In Add 14.00 L of water at 72.1 C 66.0 C 90 min
Mash Out Add 8.00 L of water at 94.7 C 75.6 C 10 min

Normally use NB hops but wanted to use up the POR and as its only for bittering who gives a dam

Rook

Sorry guys, I was a bit tardy getting this one up. Slightly tweaked version of Tony's LCBA from the recipe database.

I no chilled this one, so it lost a lot of the profile from the 20 and 0 min additions. Next time I do an NC batch, I will swap out to ultra late hopping (french press). If you are chilling this one, then the recipe should pretty much be good to go as is.

BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Big Bright Ale
Brewer: Brendo
Asst Brewer:
Style: American Pale Ale
Taste: (0.0)

Recipe Specifications
Batch Size: 44.00 L
Boil Size: 52.99 L
Estimated OG: 1.050 SG
Estimated Color: 7.8 EBC
Estimated IBU: 36.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %

------------
6.25 kg Pilsner (Weyermann) (3.9 EBC) Grain 67.57 %
1.80 kg Vienna Malt (Weyermann) (7.9 EBC) Grain 19.46 %
0.60 kg Carapils/Carafoam (Weyermann) (3.9 EBC) Grain 6.49 %
0.60 kg Wheat Malt (Joe White) (3.9 EBC) Grain 6.49 %
34.00 gm B Saaz [7.00 %] (60 min) Hops 16.2 IBU
20.00 gm Amarillo Gold 6/2/06 [9.50 %] (60 min) Hops 12.9 IBU
26.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (20 min) Hops 3.3 IBU
26.00 gm B Saaz [7.00 %] (20 min) Hops 4.2 IBU
30.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
30.00 gm B Saaz [7.00 %] (0 min) Hops -
1.00 items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
2 Pkgs SafAle American Ale (DCL Yeast #US-05) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 9.25 kg
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
60 min Mash In Add 24.12 L of water at 71.2 C 65.0 C
10 min Mash Out Add 13.51 L of water at 97.2 C 75.6 C

6. sappas - Better Red Than Dead Irish Red Ale

Recipe: Better Red Than Dead II 23L - 2009-06-05
Brewer: Scott
Asst Brewer:
Style: Irish Red Ale
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
Batch Size: 23.00 L
Boil Size: 31.72 L
Estimated OG: 1.058 SG
Estimated Color: 28.9 EBC
Estimated IBU: 22.8 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 85.00 %

------------
2.80 kg Pale Malt, Traditional Ale (Joe White) (5.Grain 55.45 %
1.40 kg Munich I (Weyermann) (14.0 EBC) Grain 27.72 %
0.60 kg Carared (Weyermann) (47.3 EBC) Grain 11.88 %
0.20 kg Crystal (Joe White) (141.8 EBC) Grain 3.96 %
0.05 kg Roasted Malt (Joe White) (1182.0 EBC) Grain 0.99 %
42.00 gm Fuggles [4.20 %] (45 min) Hops 16.5 IBU
26.00 gm Goldings, East Kent [4.80 %] (15 min) Hops 6.3 IBU
1 Pkgs Irish Ale (Wyeast Labs #1084) Yeast-Ale

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body
Total Grain Weight: 5.05 kg
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
60 min Mash In Add 13.17 L of water at 75.5 C 67.8 C
10 min Mash Out Add 7.38 L of water at 91.8 C 75.6 C

Notes:
------
Bottled 20/06/2009
Best after 18/07/2009

Well I brewed the Fourstar inspired AIPA on Friday.. ended up doing a mix of JW munich/JW cara/Wey Caramunich... up to 70IBU with tomahawk, chinook, amarillo and cascade. Shame about the US hop prices... getting a tad pricey to brew high IBU beers with loads of flavour. Fermentation appears to have slowed after only 2 days @ 20C. Will check SG and sample in few days.... hmmm can't wait.

With any luck next year I can harvest enough home grown hops ...