Unusual Foaming/infection Day 6

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

felon

Reaction score
Hi all
I have never had an infected brew before. I have been brewing for about 7 years now. I recently failed to clean out one of my fermenters for about 10 days after I kegged a batch. I noticed a hazy/powdery looking film starting to grow on the surface. I needed this fermenter for a new batch. Being very paranoid, I gave it a very thorough clean with a very strong solution of PSR, followed by a soak with a cup of domestos in 5L of water ans shaken around every few minutes for an hour. Then gave it another clean with PSR and a good rinse with tap water, and then 2L of boiling water shaken around for several minutes. I thought this would have killed anything.