Trying to get buddies into brewing need help with cheap fermenters

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Canuckdownunder

Reaction score
Hey Everybody!
So I've been brewing for a bit now. I got myself a couple fermenters a couple of cornies and built a sweet kegerater set up. I have a lot of buddies from uni expressing interest in home brewing and I've even been asked to start a monthly column on how to brew at home for the uni paper. My problem seems to be talking people into the initial equipment cost.

When I started brewing I was lucky. I found a guy looking to get rid of his primary and assorted bits for 10 bucks on gumtree. Combo that up with 30 PET bottles from Big W and I was good to go. However I can hardly write "find a guy looking to offload his set up for cheap" in my article. So I guess what I was wondering was is there a cheaper way to get people into brewing. I've heard of people using buckets from Bunnings? Are there any that you can recommend? I really want to start a sort of home brew revolution at my uni and I think that if I can find a cheap way of doing it things will really kick off. We already have a beer appreciation society on campus so what better way to appreciate beer than to make your own?

Any help would be awesome thanks guys!
Cam

You can't get cheaper than a 20 litre pot from BigW and a 20 litre willow plastic water container for fermenting.

Search for the all grain stove top brew in a bag thread on the all grain forum by NickJD . Heaps of information there on starting out in all grain on the cheap.

Canuckdownunder said:
However I can hardly write "find a guy looking to offload his set up for cheap" in my article.