Toucan Noob

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DangerousDave

Reaction score
hello all first time poster

im brand new to brewing and have only made 5-6 simple kit brews all come out well so far so ive fallin in love with brewing my own beer and want to get a bit more adventurous

a mate told me of toucaning and i searched it up and found you wonderfully informative people :)

im looking to make a strong alc vol beer but im not very confident in terms of adding strange hops and the like as i only really have access to my local woolies.

my questions (finally) are can i make a two can by just getting two simple can kits (prob coopers or Tooheys) and just add dextrose ?
if so how much dex and should i use both yeasts?

sorry for my incredible noobness.

i do hope to improve my knowledge and move into more technical brewing but at the mo i just wanna get pissed :p :party:

cheers all

You can definitely make a brew with two cans, a common and popular recipe I've seen around here, but haven't tried myself, is a coopers stout+dark toucan; and you can easily get into doing that and steeping grains to give it some more complexity. Do a forum search for toucans (or twocans?) and have a read through the wiki section.

My first ever brew was a coopers stout+lager and some brewing sugar, it didn't turn out the best but that was more to do with poor temp control and old ingredients than anything else.

It's important to get the liquid malt extract as fresh as possible as it goes south pretty fast when stored on the shelf, and the yeast will be healthier as well. And you will definitely want to pitch both yeast sachets, be prepared for some crazy krausen though.

ps. here is the massive toucan thread http://www.aussiehomebrewer.com/forum//ind...showtopic=15630 all 3 years worth of posts!