To Hop And Not To Hop "that Is The Question"

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keef12345

Reaction score
Im new to brewing and have had dozens of questions answered on this forum due to the brewers. Thankyou.

I really enjoy Pale Ale/Brown Ales/Lagers/stouts/olds/blondes.

There are so many different hops on the market. Different brands etc. And so many ways to add them.
Can you guys sort the charfe from the header??? And explain good hops from average hops.
No I understand that beer comes down to personal choice and when adding hops its a personal task...
Im not knowing which path to walk down in the way of hop usage...

My next beer I want to make is a Porter. I want the beer to stay australian so i thought about pride of ringwood.

Has anyone got some suggestions to using Hops. As im not much of an expert using them. I'm not a great fan of bitter tasting beer so bitter hops are out. :beer:

WOW dude, Dont let Darren read this post.
Anyway, U hit de nail on de head when u said "that beer comes down to personal choice and when adding hops its a personal task..."
It is just a case of using the general hops from the region/country to suit the beer style u are brewing. I have been doing AG for about 5 years now and I must say that I dont think I will live long enough to try every type of hop in every style of beer I brew. So for English Bitters stick with the English hops ie Goldings, Target, Northdown, ect. For the German Lagers use German Hop ie NB, Hallertauer, Magnum ect. and for APA's you wont do better than Amarillo and Cascade.
Brewing good beer is hard enough without messing with what hops made these beers great in the first place. So stick with these rules and save yourself one headache as there is other areas of your brewing that you could be chopping and changing to improve your beer.