To Fizz Or Not To Fiz

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

legham

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

Ive been Brewing for a few months now and put down around 5 brews. Im drinking the third now and unfortunatly like the last two it is really hit and miss with carbonation. Every second bottle is lacking in the fizz. I do my best to heat them after bottling but has no results.

I guess my question is how do you guys make sure you get the fiz in the bottle?

cheers.

More information needed.

Bulk Priming ?

PET Bottles or Glass with caps ?

I never have a problem using PET bottles with dex and a Brigalow sugar measure from Woolies.

Although up here in the tropics bottles are hard after 4 days summer or winter.

Bulk priming is popular but not really needed if you are just using standard sized bottles and you can't be bothered racking from the primary.

If you bulk prime properly you should get consistent carbonation.

How are you doing it at the moment? Maybe your technique or ingredients have an easy solution.

Make sure your glass is free from any detergents... I wash all of mine in hot water before use as it cleans away any residual detergents from the dishwasher prior to beer o'clock.

I use a mixture of glass and pet bottles. They are always very clean and rinsed. I use the carbonation drops the bottles.

I used to use carb drops and generally had no issue but I've heard people suggest that due to slight variations in size, they can be inconsistent. How long have you left the bottles for?

Reasons for low/inconsistent fizz include:

Not sealing bottles properly
Incorrect dosage
Cold weather

Maybe have a look at bulk priming for your next brew and compare the methods.

Thanks, going to bulk prime next time. It is cold here so maybe that is the problem.