This is above my pay grade, I am still new to this

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

okie1

Reaction score
Ok, I was given this, what can I make from it, can I make 2-6 gallon (23ltr) batches or do I need something more?

3 pounds (1.36078kg) dried malt extract

2 packages Safale us-05 Yeast

6 pounds (2.72155kg) ultralight liquid malt extract

4ozs. (113.398gms.) Cascade pellet hops

2 packages carb drops (enough for 60 pet bottles.)

10 pounds (4.53593kg) Western American pale malt (cracked)

I have a Coopers DIY set up that I used for my first (excellent) brew.
Any input appreciated.

You can make several batches with that but you might run dry on hops, have a search for the "hop hog extract" recipe

There's lots you can do with that combo but as you're new I'll steer away from the whole grains for now (despite the fact you have enough for a 20lt brew with them alone) and look at your malt extracts & hops.

You could try something super simple like this...

Cascading Pale Ale

Batch size: 23lts
Boil time: 60 min
Est.IBUs: 29.5
Est. ABV: 4.4% (after bottling)
OG: 1.043
FG: 1.011

1kg of Light Dry Malt Extract
2kg of Ultralight Liquid malt Extract
73g of cascade hops
  • 18g @ 60min
  • 20g @ 20min
  • 20g @10min
  • 15g @ 0min (flameout)
1 x packet of US-05 Yeast

Firstly, clean and sanitize all your gear. This means your Coopers DIY fermenter including the tap, collar and lid, any stirring paddles (or large spoons) you might use in mixing it and anything else you might need. Your DIY kit should have come with some sanitizing agent.