The Simplest And Best Cleaner

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kizzyaggots

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to brewing and just bought 2 cans of coopers bitter to throw down. I want my first brew to be a success and i need clean impliments, can any of you guys recomend a nice cheap easy cleaner as i don't want to stuff up my first brew.

Cheers Kizzy. :beer: :chug:

Hi guys I'm new to brewing and just bought 2 cans of coopers bitter to throw down. I want my first brew to be a success and i need clean impliments, can any of you guys recomend a nice cheap easy cleaner as i don't want to stuff up my first brew.

Hi kizzyaggots

There is a lot of info on this site, don't be afraid to use the search function.
2 main rules
1. Don't use sodium metabisulphate - it inhibits yeast growth, it isn't a sanitiser.
2. Visit your local home brew store and ask them for one. If desperate, a cheap and easy sanitiser is the neo pink from Big W.

Cheers
Pedro

G'day Kizzy,
Welcome to the forum!
One thing to remember is that you need to use a cleaner AND and sanitiser. As Pedro points out, you need to make sure that what you have in contact with any wort or beer, must be sanitised to avoid infections and basically ruining all your hard work.
Your local homebrew shop should have a cleaner and sanitiser that you can use. Personally, I recommend Iodophor as a good sanitiser - it's easily applied with a spray bottle and you don't have to rinse it off. As for cleaners, you can basically go for a cheap and easy solution such as Sodium Percarbonate (aka NappySan) but as has been mentioned, go and visit your local brewshop and have a chat with the person behind the counter...If they can't help you with basics such as cleaning and sanitising, bid them farewell and go to another store!