The Cheese Thread

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fixa

Barking Hound Brewery
Reaction score
Tell us about your homemade cheeses...
after talking to andrewQLD, i'm all keen to give it a go, just gotta get some time now.
How do you make yours? what has and hasn't worked for you?

and most importantly, is cheese possibly the best food ever?

Brie and Camenbert are really easy to make. If you have access to fresh cows or goats milk even better. I am a real beginner at it but I made some a while back that wernt that bad. Everyone around here are a bit cheesed out now but Ill knock up another batch soon.

once you have the basics like spores(I think thats what there called) rennet (the stuff that makes the milk set) and a few pcv pipes to put the curds into (about10cm round and15 high) your off! you just cut the curds into cubes, put them into the pvc (or cheese molds) flip them every few hours, next day soak them in brine(salty water) put a spec of white moud spore powder in it(this gives the cheese that white fuzzy velvet like coating on the out side) store at cellar temp. (13-16c.) for 4-6 weeks and enjoy.

I also experimented with blue linnens and got some pretty funky fromage :D but it was all really edible (if you go for reall pundgent type cheese) It dosnt cost allot. Your best off checking out Cheeselinks for all you need to know and get more info but if your into it its very rewarding much like homebrewing.-

Fixa, cheese IS the best food in the world. Here is a rundown of the process I use to make Stilton cheese.

The Recipe
4.5lt full cream milk
1/8 tsp farmhouse culture available here Cheeselinks
OR 1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tbls of stilton cheese for the mold culture or a blue mold culture available from the above link
1.5ml of liquid Rennet
2 tsp salt, non iodised (rock salt or sea salt is best)