Sunken Yeast

Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum

Help Support Australia & New Zealand Homebrewing Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wadey

Reaction score
Hi All.

Just put down a ESB Quickbrew kit (Aussie Blonde Version) with Safbrew T-58 as recommended by LHBS.

Pitched the yeast at 24C, probably too high but best I could do, I am just starting to learn cooling methods and have a couple of ice bottles and a wet towel around the vat.

Anyway, about 3 minutes after pitching the yeast it starting sinking.

Very strange, never had this happen to me before, but never used this yeast either. I am just a kit man and usually use the yeast that comes with the tins.

Anyway, just wondering what people thought, is this normal I wonder, or did the yeast go straight into suspension or something.

Hope I havent stuffed things up as this was going to be my first kegging brew.

Cheers

Wadey

G'day Wadey,

maybe you've got one of those "powered yeasts" that was mentioned (loosely) a week or so ago and maybe it's gone straight to work!...(joking dude)

Seriously though, not sure exactly what you mean, or probably more to the point how you can tell. Do you aerate your wort when/as you pitch your yeast?

My yeast never ends up floating on the surface so to speak. (Lots of hop debris sure, but not yeast).

There are probably lots of different thoughts as to how to pitch yeast, but for me, i pour my cooled wort in to my fermenter from around 4 or 5 feet high to get a decent aeration into the fermenter before i pitch. Then i take my sterile spoony stirrer thingy, and give it a mix anyway.

I wouldn't stress at all mate. You'll make beer....

EDIT: Spellink

No worries.

I gave it a good stir for sure before pitching.

Just seemed odd as every other brew i have done the yeast seem to go to work on the surface.

Might have been a stupid question, but thought I would throw it out there anyway's.